Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 05 Feb 2018 22:14 #93906

  • moonpost
  • moonpost's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Ok, this just happened to me again. I am working away in FCPX, making different versions of :30 commercials. Suddenly the Project I was working on will have a duration of 00:00:00:00 and will be unable to be opened no matter what. This has occurred in the last version under Sierra and the 10.4 version under latest High Sierra. It mostly seems to happen when I quit and reopen FCPX, but the crash reports of FCPX almost always refer to Quartz Composer problems when I use the Digital Rebellion app to analyze them.
I have a 8-core Mac Pro 3 Ghz machine with dual D700 cards. I don't seem to have any other issues with any other software and when I updated to High Sierra, I even did a clean install (just a few weeks ago). Is there a hardware issue with my machine?
I have iZotope RX6 installed, Neat Video, ColorFinale Pro, MotionVFX stuff, FxFactory, CoreMelt stuff, Hawaiki Keyer, and some other effects and such.
Needless to say, losing ANY client work is a HUGE risk and a MAJOR annoyance. I have taken to exporting XML files of the Projects after every edit revision. At least if I have to reimport from XML I can keep on working. But this obviously shouldn't be happening.
Has anybody else out there seen this anomaly? Is there a fix? Please advise asap! Thanks.
Last Edit: 05 Feb 2018 22:16 by moonpost.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 05 Feb 2018 23:52 #93908

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2123
  • Thank you received: 286
  • Karma: 30
I had the same Mac Pro until a month ago, and never had this issue. This is the first I've heard of this.

First, is at least 15 percent of your system drive (and all drives for that matter) free space?
Second, Quartz Composer tells me to look at third party plugins. Verify all your third party stuff is up to date.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 06 Feb 2018 00:05 #93910

  • moonpost
  • moonpost's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Yes, still have more than 15% of space free.
Plugins were all updated with the fresh install. Problem still persists.

An interesting note (because I have no idea what the heck it means), is that the following seems to show up in the crash logs on a regular basis:
Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000
Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

Application Specific Information:
CALayer position contains NaN: [nan nan]
abort() called
Have had one initial detailed call with Apple tech support so far. If they are able to narrow down and resolve this issue, I'll be sure to update this thread.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 06 Feb 2018 00:11 #93914

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2123
  • Thank you received: 286
  • Karma: 30
I'm going to guess it's one of your third party plugins, but let us know if Apple support actually helps. In my experience that is rare for the pro apps.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 06 Feb 2018 04:42 #93925

moonpost wrote:
… crash reports of FCPX almost always refer to Quartz Composer problems….

<scratching head> Wasn't Quartz dumped with AV-Foundation…?? aka, doesn't exist anymore? …
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 06 Feb 2018 12:50 #93940

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2123
  • Thank you received: 286
  • Karma: 30
Nope, Quartz Composer is alive and well and thriving. I'm on the developer listserve an the work is continuing strongly. It is like an unofficial side project for Apple at this point, but there's no sign of it being killed off.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 07 Feb 2018 05:32 #93973

FCPX.guru wrote:
…It is like an unofficial side project for Apple at this point, but there's no sign of it being killed off.

hmm, thanks Ben for sharing…

got a different message from a German developer, she told me, old QuartzCompositions work under HS, but you have to set manually some '32bit mode' <<me no clue, just quoting/paraphrasing!, Quartz Composer doesn't run at all in her set-up with HS… bag of hurt.

'unofficial' hits probably the point - too bad, when a plugin relies on that, to come back2topic …

==addendum==
That same Dev told me, she hadn't have an update for Quartz Composer since 2014…
And The Mothership itself lists on its Dev-sites…:

ScreenShot2018-02-07at11.52.22.png


… so, Quartz seems to be on status 'Hobby' :)
Last Edit: 07 Feb 2018 11:01 by Karsten Schlüter.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 21 Feb 2018 21:25 #94260

  • moonpost
  • moonpost's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Just a quick update to the situation:
It appears that most things are mostly working most of the time, but yesterday I took delivery of 2 new RocketStor RAIDs for a big doc project we have going on and these units wouldn't mount or update or anything. I tried many things. Eventually I unplugged my main OWC Thunderbay 4 RAID and my 2nd monitor (its an old Dell IPS via TB > DVI) and voila! suddenly the RAIDs are seen and able to be updated and prepped. Now, I have plugged the OWC RAID back in as I needed to transfer some footage from it to the new RAID and it seems to be working fine. I have NOT plugged in the 2nd display again.
My big question: Is it even possible for a display to jack up your TB ports?? Or is this just coincidence?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Project suddenly has duration of 00:00:00:00 21 Feb 2018 21:44 #94262

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2123
  • Thank you received: 286
  • Karma: 30
I'm on the Quartz developer listserve, and there's some bug fixes now and again, mostly not announced, but no, Quartz is not being actively developed like other apps. But, it is not officially EOL yet. Lots of folks still develop with it.

moonpost; A monitor like that shouldn't be an issue, if it's at the very end of the chain. But, could be something quirky with that specific model.
The administrator has disabled public write access.