Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 09 Feb 2018 15:00 #94044

  • vladiciu
  • vladiciu's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Hello everyone, sorry for the inexperienced somanda but I have been looking at MAC for just over 2 years and I'm not very experienced.
So I would like clarification, I read that high sierra must be formatted in APFS instead of sierra in MACOS journalied.
Well then my question is, for those who use fcpx 10.4 what difference does it find using it on high sierra and then in APFS?

If I use fcpx 10.4 with sierra what do I lose compared high sierra?
thanks to those who will answer me
fcpx 10.4 the best
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 09 Feb 2018 17:43 #94048

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2067
  • Thank you received: 280
  • Karma: 30
There's some terms mixed up there. Let's keep it simple.

If you're on an older Mac, Sierra may be your best bet.
If you on a newer Mac, High Sierra is definitely the way to go.

HS will only require your system drive to be formatted as APFS, your other drives can be that or HFS+.

The difference performance wise depends on the Mac year model you're running. On a newer Mac, HS for sure. On an older Mac, eh, depending, you may want to stay on Sierra.

High Sierra also allows you to use 360 video and HEVC video, Sierra does not.

What specific Mac model and year are you running?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 09 Feb 2018 17:52 #94049

  • vladiciu
  • vladiciu's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
IMac 27 2013 I5 - 3,2 GHz - 16 gb ram

:P
fcpx 10.4 the best
Last Edit: 09 Feb 2018 18:02 by vladiciu.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 09 Feb 2018 19:08 #94051

  • vladiciu
  • vladiciu's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
help my please.
fcpx 10.4 the best
Last Edit: 09 Feb 2018 19:09 by vladiciu.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 09 Feb 2018 19:10 #94052

  • click
  • click's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 139
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
Unfortunately then I have a I7 Hackintosh 4790 K 32 ram gb and high sierra with fcpx 10.4.
why does this fcpx malfunction me as I described in my topic?
to work well is it necessary to have a more powerful PC?
thank you
Last Edit: 09 Feb 2018 19:11 by click.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 09 Feb 2018 19:58 #94055

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 993
  • Thank you received: 209
  • Karma: 17
click wrote:
Unfortunately then I have a I7 Hackintosh 4790 K 32 ram gb and high sierra with fcpx 10.4.
why does this fcpx malfunction me as I described in my topic?
to work well is it necessary to have a more powerful PC?
thank you

Do you mean this topic? www.fcp.co/forum/4-final-cut-pro-x-fcpx/...wheels-problem#93874

If so the best way to pursue that is take the clip to someone having a Mac running FCPX 10.4 and try it there including whatever color effects you used. You could probably even put it on a thumb drive and try it at an Apple store. If it happens on a Mac it may be a FCPX issue. If it doesn't, it may be a hardware issue on your Hackintosh or a software/hardware interaction unique to that platform.

If possible take the original camera file, not something you transcoded or re-wrapped on the Hackintosh.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 09 Feb 2018 21:40 #94058

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2067
  • Thank you received: 280
  • Karma: 30
vladiciu, I'd say back everything up with something that can make a bootable backup drive, like Carbon Copy Cloner or TimeMachine. Be sure your hardware is OK to upgrade.
www.apple.com/macos/how-to-upgrade/

And be sure all your apps and plugins will run in High Sierra first, before upgrading.

But yeah, you could probably upgrade. But do it carefully, step by step.

Now, there are folks who say don't upgrade, don't use Migration Assistant, but I've used them for as long as they've been available, and on more Macs than I can count, and never had issues due to that method of upgrading. If you wanted, you could, once the backup is done, you could install macOS 10.13 from scratch, reinstall all your apps and such from scratch. Nothing wrong with that, it's a very safe and clean way to upgrade.
Last Edit: 09 Feb 2018 21:40 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 10 Feb 2018 08:49 #94067

  • Benzebub
  • Benzebub's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
FCPX.guru wrote:
HS will only require your system drive to be formatted as APFS, your other drives can be that or HFS+.

High Sierra does not require the boot drive to be APFS. It will automatically convert your boot drive if it can but even that can be bypassed.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference FCPX 10.4 sierra vs high sierra 10 Feb 2018 11:40 #94072

  • click
  • click's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 139
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
joema wrote:
click wrote:
Unfortunately then I have a I7 Hackintosh 4790 K 32 ram gb and high sierra with fcpx 10.4.
why does this fcpx malfunction me as I described in my topic?
to work well is it necessary to have a more powerful PC?
thank you

Do you mean this topic? www.fcp.co/forum/4-final-cut-pro-x-fcpx/...wheels-problem#93874

If so the best way to pursue that is take the clip to someone having a Mac running FCPX 10.4 and try it there including whatever color effects you used. You could probably even put it on a thumb drive and try it at an Apple store. If it happens on a Mac it may be a FCPX issue. If it doesn't, it may be a hardware issue on your Hackintosh or a software/hardware interaction unique to that platform.

If possible take the original camera file, not something you transcoded or re-wrapped on the Hackintosh.




thank you
The administrator has disabled public write access.