Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: multicam timeline collapse

multicam timeline collapse 22 May 2018 18:51 #95595

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 451
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
Sorry to be so dense, but how can I collapse these clips in Multicam? thx!
screenshotjpeg.jpg
The administrator has disabled public write access.

multicam timeline collapse 22 May 2018 19:35 #95596

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 987
  • Thank you received: 209
  • Karma: 17
You have double-clicked on the multicam clip and are viewing the constituent clips. You just press the back arrow above the timeline to go back to the multicam clip "container" view.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

multicam timeline collapse 22 May 2018 20:13 #95597

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 451
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
That's how it usually works, but when I'm working on multiple projects, often that the mutlicam clip isn't there anymore when I go to access it and I'm locked out of it. Maybe I just missed it, but this has been driving me nuts. I'll see if it happens again. thx

So right now, I have a multicam clip that I've opened to its constituent parts and there is no option using the arrows to get back to the multicam clip. I need to start a new project and then bring down the multicam clip into it to be able to edit it,.
Last Edit: 22 May 2018 20:33 by parkerhqj.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

multicam timeline collapse 23 May 2018 03:01 #95600

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2057
  • Thank you received: 279
  • Karma: 30
A multicam has to be in a Timeline in order to edit it. No way around that.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

multicam timeline collapse 23 May 2018 15:00 #95606

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 987
  • Thank you received: 209
  • Karma: 17
parkerhqj wrote:
...but when I'm working on multiple projects, often that the mutlicam clip isn't there anymore when I go to access it and I'm locked out of it....So right now, I have a multicam clip that I've opened to its constituent parts and there is no option using the arrows to get back to the multicam clip. I need to start a new project and then bring down the multicam clip into it to be able to edit it,.

I haven't seen this. If I open a MC clip from the Browser OR from the timeline, I can press the back arrow to go to the previous item in timeline history, whether that was a previous Browser MC clip or a previous timeline.

BTW you can see what's in the TL history by right-clicking on the left or right arrows. It gives a popup showing what's behind you or in front of you, based on which arrow you click.

I guess if you somehow loaded a library, and the timeline history was empty, then in the Browser you double-clicked and opened a MC clip, there might be nothing to go back to since there's no timeline opened.

I don't see how you can be "locked out" of a MC clip. If you're editing a MC clip in the TL, "punch down" and open that MC clip, you can always go back to the TL.

You must keep clear in your mind whether you're opening a MC Clip from the Browser (say to make a color correction change before editing that into a TL), or opening it in the TL (say to blade a portion for applying stabilization).

Besides the MC clip issue, FCPX will sometimes get confused upon a restart or if you double-click on a project. It may not open that project but a prior one. Then you can waste time editing the wrong version of a project. Always double-check after opening a project that it's the one you want.
The administrator has disabled public write access.