Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: FCPX automatically opens previous project

FCPX automatically opens previous project 26 Jul 2018 04:06 #96514

I'm on the latest version 10.4.3 and this has been happening for as long as I can remember.

When I duplicate a project and go back to the event library and select a clip and press spacebar to preview play the clip, FCPX will automatically load up the previous project. So then I have to go back into my event folder and double click on the latest project I created. After I do this, it won't automatically switch to the previous project again until I duplicate another project and the same thing happens again.

Has anyone else experienced this? I have deleted my preferences and that didn't seem to do anything.
Last Edit: 26 Jul 2018 06:33 by ChromeHeart.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 26 Jul 2018 04:23 #96517

Actually I should also note that it opens the previous project when I have clicked one of the clips in the browser and then press spacebar. Once I hit spacebar then it switches to the previous project.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 26 Jul 2018 06:49 #96520

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4181
  • Thank you received: 669
  • Karma: 108
Have you edited inside a clip? Did you use the open clip function or open in timeline, depending on the version you’re using?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 26 Jul 2018 11:16 #96526

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2467
  • Thank you received: 321
  • Karma: 32
I duplicate projects daily, and have never had problems.

So what do you mean by Event Library, are you viewing clips in the Browser or in the Timeline?

When you duplicate a project, it doesn't automatically load into the Timeline, you have to load it manually after creating it. Are you doing this?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 27 Jul 2018 04:55 #96543

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4181
  • Thank you received: 669
  • Karma: 108
Can you post a screenshot that shows the project that opens when you pay a clip?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 27 Jul 2018 18:39 #96550

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2467
  • Thank you received: 321
  • Karma: 32
How much those clips get paid? More than me? I'm in the wrong business. I need to be a clip! ROFL! Yeah, stupid auto spell check.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 27 Jul 2018 19:36 #96554

I'll post a screen capture video later this evening... probably the easiest way to explain the situation.

Thanks guys.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 28 Jul 2018 10:57 #96565

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1104
  • Thank you received: 234
  • Karma: 20
ChromeHeart wrote:
I'm on the latest version 10.4.3 and this has been happening for as long as I can remember.

When I duplicate a project and go back to the event library and select a clip and press spacebar to preview play the clip, FCPX will automatically load up the previous project....Has anyone else experienced this? I have deleted my preferences and that didn't seem to do anything.

Yes I see similar behaviors frequently. It works normally for a while, then after creating a certain # of project snapshots or when the project reaches a certain complexity, FCPX becomes erratic at opening the last project upon restart. Sometimes when I double-click on a specific project, it will open a different one. This usually happens after creating or renaming a snapshot, but then the behavior persists even after restarting or if trashing prefs. I always have to double-check the project name at the top of the timeline, as I'm never sure what project it will open.

My guess is there's a "stale data" issue where they are storing some project info or pointers to a project and this becomes out of date in some conditions. If working with various versions of a project, it can easily lead you to doing work on the wrong project, then you have to remember those edits, extract them somehow and add them to the right project. I've learned to always check the project name in the timeline, even after I double-click on a specific project to open it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 28 Jul 2018 11:43 #96566

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4181
  • Thank you received: 669
  • Karma: 108
Have you seen a project open when you press play on a clip in the browser?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 28 Jul 2018 11:53 #96567

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1104
  • Thank you received: 234
  • Karma: 20
Tom Wolsky wrote:
Have you seen a project open when you press play on a clip in the browser?

No, I've never seen that.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX automatically opens previous project 30 Jul 2018 15:41 #96590

  • Threefold Films
  • Threefold Films's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 1
I get this too, it's happened for longer than just the update too, sometimes when I'm scrubbing in the browser in thumbnail mode and press the spacebar to play the clip I'm scrubbing it loads a different project into the timeline... it happens really sporadically. I'm pretty sure it has something to do with dual screens, but can't be certain.
The administrator has disabled public write access.