Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Eternal background render

Eternal background render 20 Aug 2018 18:49 #96866

  • drewchilli
  • drewchilli's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Hello. I've got a big project and opening it I always see background render on start. Sometimes it takes a lot of time. After a while it stops. Then on reopening some other render starts. I wonder why it doesn't save the previous render job and seems like start rendering again and again. Any suggestions? Thanks.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Eternal background render 20 Aug 2018 21:16 #96868

  • Jonathan Levin
  • Jonathan Levin's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 678
  • Thank you received: 17
  • Karma: 5
I would turn Background Render off in the preferences. I know others would concur here on that. I've had render files disappear if I render something, and then quit out of FCP X right away. Do you need to render? I render if I'm working on a title or build-out of some sort, using the Modify>Render Selection.

Interesting thread on rendering here:

www.fcp.co/forum/4-final-cut-pro-x-fcpx/...-prior-to-masterfile
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Eternal background render 20 Aug 2018 21:28 #96869

  • drewchilli
  • drewchilli's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Thanks. And when you render selection, does it save rendered material for the future when you close the app?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Eternal background render 20 Aug 2018 22:07 #96870

  • Jonathan Levin
  • Jonathan Levin's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 678
  • Thank you received: 17
  • Karma: 5
It SHOULD save changes. I can’t confirm this but maybe you have to make some edit/change to Project (timeline) and after a couple of minutes close FCP.

One thing I’ve observed, and this is a combination of large project with lots of titles, effects, etc, and my really old mid 2010 Mac Pro:

When I re-launch FC, it takes a minute or to for everything to “load”. The last things to load are the render files. So maybe launch FC, go get coffee, and all may be good.
The administrator has disabled public write access.