Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: "Multicam for audio"?

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 11:57 #97214

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 191
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
I have a multi track wave file (no video) with different members of a panel speaking. I would like to treat the tracks like a multi "cam" for audio, so that I can switch between the active tracks. How can I do this? I was thinking of detaching each track and then trying to create a multicam clip, but not sure about the best approach.

Thanks in advance,
The administrator has disabled public write access.

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 12:22 #97215

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4227
  • Thank you received: 677
  • Karma: 109
I think you want to use the expand audio components function in the timeline.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 22:45 #97221

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 191
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
That may be the 1st step, but then how do I simply select which voice to hear when? I don't want to have to individually region fade all but one track, so I have 5 tracks and when person on track 2 is speaking, I would need to fade to zero tracks 1, 3, 4 and 5. This is too tedious for a 2 hr long recording.

If it was "multi cam" style, I would just click track 2 if that is the main speaker.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 22:55 #97222

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2719
  • Thank you received: 357
  • Karma: 33
Assign each audio clip it's own Camera Name, Angle and it's own Role to start with, then you have lots of options.

But, to make it a Multicam, they'd all have to have the same audio to match up, or the same Timecode to match up.

Assign each a unique Role, put in a Compound Clip, Expand Audio Components. Then use the Range tool to select regions and V to mute that region.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

"Multicam for audio"? 28 Sep 2018 05:32 #97224

  • Beeldcomponist
  • Beeldcomponist's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 32
  • Thank you received: 8
  • Karma: 4
You can split the multichannel wav with Wave Agent from SoundDevices en make a multicam with all the minor channels. www.sounddevices.com/products/accessories/software/wave-agent
The administrator has disabled public write access.

"Multicam for audio"? 28 Sep 2018 05:33 #97225

  • Beeldcomponist
  • Beeldcomponist's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 32
  • Thank you received: 8
  • Karma: 4
ahh autocorrect, multicam with all the mono audio channels
The administrator has disabled public write access.

"Multicam for audio"? 29 Sep 2018 04:59 #97237

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 191
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Many thanks for this! :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

"Multicam for audio"? 29 Sep 2018 09:54 #97238

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1189
  • Thank you received: 245
  • Karma: 21
pszilard wrote:
That may be the 1st step, but then how do I simply select which voice to hear when?....

I think Tom is right -- for a multi-channel .wav file, you can expand audio components, then mark a full-length range on each track with the "R" key, disable each with the "V" key. You'll still see a dimmed version of the waveform, so you can visually see when a person is talking. You then simply draw short ranges and re-enable those with V when that person is speaking. It doesn't require breaking apart the polyphonic .wav file or doing audio-only multi-cam in the Angle Editor. It would look something like this:
Attachments:
Last Edit: 29 Sep 2018 09:55 by joema.
The administrator has disabled public write access.