Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Play stops when I move playhead in browser

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 30 Dec 2018 23:54 #98360

  • justinae
  • justinae's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Hi all. New to FCP and this forum.

I looked all over and can't find the answer to how I can have play continue automatically when I move the playhead in the browser. In the timeline if I click to move the playhead it just keeps playing from the new location but in the browser it stops and I have to start it up again.

I tried continuous playback but now know that's not it. I don't see a setting.

Any help?

Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 31 Dec 2018 18:29 #98361

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1866
  • Thank you received: 216
  • Karma: 30
You cannot simultaneously play a clip from the timeline and the browser. You can playback from the timeline and at the same time select to view clips in the browser, but playback of video can only be done either in the timeline or in the browser at any one time.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 31 Dec 2018 20:28 #98362

  • justinae
  • justinae's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Thanks. Yep I got that. I mean I want the behavior of the browser to be the same of the timeline. In the timeline if its playing and i move the playhead it keeps playing from the new spot. In the browser if I do the same thing it doesn't keep playing.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 31 Dec 2018 20:34 #98363

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2622
  • Thank you received: 341
  • Karma: 32
I know what you're talking about, and it's an annoyance to me, also. In the timeline, his space bar to play, click to move playhead to a new location in timeline, it keeps playing. Do the same in the Browser, it stops playing. This is normal behavior for some reason. Feedback page time.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 01 Jan 2019 07:19 #98366

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 453
  • Thank you received: 58
  • Karma: 9
I don't want that feature, and I tell you why. I aggressively skim in Browser to find a specific *frame*, one I would like to set an In or Out on, temporarily (because - we had this discussion before - the final edit points are better trimmed in the timeline, where I see how they work in the sequence). It would be a nuisance if the playback always started spontaneously. After all, to trigger it deliberately, you just need one key!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 01 Jan 2019 14:41 #98368

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2622
  • Thank you received: 341
  • Karma: 32
No, not talking about spontaneous playback. If you start playback in the browser, then click to move the playhead to a new location, would be nice to have playback continue, just like in the timeline. Nothing to do with it just playing back for no reason.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 01 Jan 2019 20:06 #98369

  • justinae
  • justinae's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Looks like there isn't a solution with the current FCP. I think it should just be a setting that can be toggled off and on. Anyway, thanks for the help!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 01 Jan 2019 22:18 #98370

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1153
  • Thank you received: 239
  • Karma: 21
FCPX.guru wrote:
No, not talking about spontaneous playback. If you start playback in the browser, then click to move the playhead to a new location, would be nice to have playback continue, just like in the timeline. ..

I agree with FCPX.guru this would be a nice little tweak. Most of the time most users probably wave the skimmer magic wand over the browser thumbnails but some (like me) also use JKL a lot and mark ranges with the keyboard. Sometimes when surveying a lot of material I want fast playback to continue even if I move the skimmer with the mouse. That's how the timeline works so the browser behavior is inconsistent with that. A configurable option would be nice just like there's an option for continuous playback.

But in terms of priority there are many things I'd rather see first.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Play stops when I move playhead in browser 03 Jan 2019 08:33 #98383

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 453
  • Thank you received: 58
  • Karma: 9
It all depends on personal habits. As an option, I'd toggle it off. Just happy with he way it works now.

BTW: did you know that Resolve has a Media Browser Skimmer ??? If you move the cursor over the browser clip, the behavior is just like in FCP. Only it doesn't turn into a traditional playhead when you click. But the playhead underneath he viewer reflects the position of the skimmer. Hitting space or JKL lets playback start from the last skimmed position, but deactivates the skimmer at the same time. It's not at all a weird experience. There are many ways to do this.
The administrator has disabled public write access.