Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Keeping markers through compound clips possible?

Keeping markers through compound clips possible? 09 Jan 2019 18:21 #98446

  • tangierc
  • tangierc's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
Folks on occasion I will create a compound clip from my entire storyline so that I can work on audio filters, levels, etc. However the chapter markers and the markers do not stay and I'd like them to. I am pretty diligent about marking my projects and want my chapters to be exported.

What are your solutions and is there simply a feature or features I haven't leveraged in FCP X yet to do what I want. I've read the some people just use a text generator as a connected clip for their entire storyline, mark that while editing, and copy it over to the compound clip.

FCP X 10.4.4
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Keeping markers through compound clips possible? 09 Jan 2019 22:33 #98450

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2724
  • Thank you received: 358
  • Karma: 33
Nope, when you create compound clips, markers on the original clips stay inside, you won't see them on the compound. Sorry about that. It is frustrating that you lose so much reasonable functionality and usability when you create a compound.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Keeping markers through compound clips possible? 10 Jan 2019 12:48 #98455

  • Rob Mills
  • Rob Mills's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 49
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 0
I have used an adjustment layer for just such a thing in the past, not perfect but it works
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Keeping markers through compound clips possible? 11 Jan 2019 02:08 #98462

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2724
  • Thank you received: 358
  • Karma: 33
That's a neat idea. Cause once you have them in an adjustment layer, you can copy/paste that layer to above your compound. Nice idea.
The administrator has disabled public write access.