Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: FCPX Plugin to remove Sensor Dirt?

FCPX Plugin to remove Sensor Dirt? 07 Mar 2019 19:50 #99202

  • truelife2
  • truelife2's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
I've been scouring the internet for some way to remove sensor dirt from a moving shot in FCPX. Somehow our A7S got dirty while moving around on a gimbal and the footage has a dark spot, dead center. Is there a way to deal with this? Again the shot is moving so the normal duplicate layer and blur methods don't really work. I tried the CHV Repair plugin but it doesn't seem to work...

Any thoughts?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugin to remove Sensor Dirt? 07 Mar 2019 21:07 #99204

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1190
  • Thank you received: 245
  • Karma: 21
truelife2 wrote:
I've been scouring the internet for some way to remove sensor dirt from a moving shot in FCPX....the shot is moving so the normal duplicate layer and blur methods don't really work...

This is a difficult case and nothing works really well. CoreMelt's object remover can handle some cases but a moving shot is hard: coremelt.com/pages/slicex-remove-objects

Their newer PaintX tool might also handle some cases but I haven't tried it: coremelt.com/products/paintx-powered-by-mocha

If really desperate you can export each frame and fix them one by one in Photoshop. For anything other than a brief shot that's a huge amount of work. This can be good motivation to check equipment and lenses before each important shot.

Sensor and lens dirt is much more apparent when shooting at smaller (numerical higher) apertures. A good way to avoid this is shoot at wider apertures, which means using an ND filter outdoors.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugin to remove Sensor Dirt? 07 Mar 2019 21:14 #99205

  • truelife2
  • truelife2's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
Thanks, Joema. Yeah, exporting each frame seems painful, but I suppose it may be cheaper than getting someone to scope it out.

I also tried Neat Video and it seemed to work, but then when the shot moved it stopped working...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugin to remove Sensor Dirt? 08 Mar 2019 01:59 #99208

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2721
  • Thank you received: 358
  • Karma: 33
I use PaintX for this more often than I care to admit. Highly recommended!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugin to remove Sensor Dirt? 08 Mar 2019 02:44 #99211

  • truelife2
  • truelife2's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
FCPX.guru I'd be curious if you were using this on moving shots or only static shots? I used TrackX to some success, but being that my shots are all gimbal shots, the background is constantly changing. If I drop a still into Photoshop I'm able to lighten the dark spot and make it a non-issue, so if I could do this in PaintX it'd be a treat.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugin to remove Sensor Dirt? 09 Mar 2019 15:13 #99223

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2721
  • Thank you received: 358
  • Karma: 33
I use PaintX on video clips. Great to have paint/clone tools with Mocha tracking built-in. I'm doing some example videos, to be published soon, of our work at the TV station using PaintX soon for Coremelt.

Now you're talking grading, instead of covering a speck of dust on your lens/sensor. FCP's built-in color tools can have a mask that keyframes. But I'd use Chromatic, as it comes with the Mocha tracker built-in.
Last Edit: 09 Mar 2019 15:14 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.