Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: GoPro Footage

GoPro Footage 11 Apr 2019 09:15 #99592

  • azzaman
  • azzaman's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
HI there,

I have searched but can't find any info on OSX.14.4 compatibility cineform footage.

I remember reading about it a few months ago that further versions of the OSX won't play cineform (for editing in FCPX). I'll basically stop updating OXS while I am using my current GoPro camera.

Unless I am missing something.

Thanks

Aaron
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 13 Apr 2019 02:44 #99617

  • azzaman
  • azzaman's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
HI there, no one know about this format and the use of GoPro camera.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 13 Apr 2019 13:07 #99619

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2820
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
I don't use that format, so I can 't help. And weekends can get slow around this forum, so give it time.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 13 Apr 2019 13:42 #99621

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 129
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
Maybe it would be worthwhle to ask GoPro about this and see how they plan to make their footage available to all NLE's and OS.
Last Edit: 13 Apr 2019 13:42 by Albo.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 13 Apr 2019 15:26 #99623

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1915
  • Thank you received: 225
  • Karma: 32
Apple has documented in detail how to deal with legacy formats that use outdated compression technology. Cineform is one such codec. You can convert your master files for use with upcoming Mac OS versions but unless the manufacturer (GoPro) supplies third party support for Cineform, it will not be recognized by either FCPX or Motion after this latest release of Mojave. Here is the complete Apple document which explains this and also lists all legacy formats that will be affected: support.apple.com/en-us/HT209000
Creating history....one edit at a time !
Last Edit: 13 Apr 2019 15:39 by dgwvideo. Reason: typo
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 13 Apr 2019 23:55 #99627

  • azzaman
  • azzaman's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Hi there,

Thanks for your reply. I have read and understand about Apples move away from cineform. I have just been looking for info on when this will be implemented in OSX as I haven't read much more about it since Apple warmed customers about the "legacy formats" that will no longer work in future releases of OSX. In the short/medium term I will not update OSX and continue to use the GoPro footage with my Mac/FCP.

I assumed there would be more talk about this for the GoPro owners who use Mac. Guess not

Thanks
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 14 Apr 2019 11:49 #99630

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2820
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
Just don't shoot cineform codec on your GoPro.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 14 Apr 2019 20:08 #99635

  • azzaman
  • azzaman's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Hi there, I wasn't aware of being able to change this. All I can do is choose PAL or NTSC.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 15 Apr 2019 00:59 #99637

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2820
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
Haven't use the lates models of GoPro, but my oder models let me change codec.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 15 Apr 2019 04:44 #99639

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1915
  • Thank you received: 225
  • Karma: 32
As I recall, Cineform was a selection made in the GoPro App, or GoPro Studio. It was not directly enabled or disabled in the camera.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

GoPro Footage 15 Apr 2019 12:40 #99643

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2820
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
I think I have it as a menu item, but yes, easier to configure in the app.
The administrator has disabled public write access.