Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: 3:2 Pulldown removal makes video jitter -> How to fix?

3:2 Pulldown removal makes video jitter -> How to fix? 23 Jul 2019 18:59 #100550

  • bendermac
  • bendermac's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 81
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 0
When I import a NTSC video that has a 3:2 pulldown applied and put this video into a 23,976fps timeline, FPCX will auto remove the pulldown. This is really nice. But it will introduce a jitter, like it displays each field, but not the actual progressive frame. This may not a major problem on 4:3 content, but on any aspect ratio higher, e.g. 16:9, it's very obvious.
Does anyone may have an idea how to fix the jitter problem?

Thanks :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

3:2 Pulldown removal makes video jitter -> How to fix? 28 Jul 2019 11:41 #100623

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1246
  • Thank you received: 258
  • Karma: 22
I think this was discussed in this thread on the Apple FCPX forum. It indicates pulldown removal in FCPX only works during ingest from a tape-based camcorder. To remove the pulldown after ingest you must use Compressor and pick the reverse telecine filter: discussions.apple.com/thread/3306760

In FCPX you could also try creating a 720p progressive project, add the NTSC clip and select the deinterlace filter in the FCPX Inspector, render/export that and evaluate. For older 29.97 interlaced material I have from a Panasonic DVX-100p that seems to work well. However that material did not incorporate Panasonic's "advanced pulldown" which happens when you shoot at 24p and it records it interlaced. We always avoided 24p on the DVX-100.
Last Edit: 28 Jul 2019 11:43 by joema.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

3:2 Pulldown removal makes video jitter -> How to fix? 30 Jul 2019 17:54 #100666

  • haysoos123
  • haysoos123's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 387
  • Thank you received: 69
  • Karma: 6
Trying matching back to the clip, and moving the in point a frame forward or back, and then re-cutting in the clip. You may have to go two frames forward, depending. I've found that clips with pulldown will usually go into a 23.976 timeline correctly if the in-point is on a correct A frame. So if you get the cadence right, it should slot in properly.

The other way as joema mentioned is to pre-process the clip through compressor and do a reverse telecine to remove the pulldown.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

3:2 Pulldown removal makes video jitter -> How to fix? 19 Aug 2019 15:06 #100981

  • bendermac
  • bendermac's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 81
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 0
haysoos123 wrote:

The other way as joema mentioned is to pre-process the clip through compressor and do a reverse telecine to remove the pulldown.

Compressor is useless because the option to Reverse Telecine is always greyed out. :S
The administrator has disabled public write access.

3:2 Pulldown removal makes video jitter -> How to fix? 20 Aug 2019 00:52 #100986

  • haysoos123
  • haysoos123's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 387
  • Thank you received: 69
  • Karma: 6
For the reverse telecine option to appear (under the Quality sections, the menu for 'retime quality'), you have to specify "Progressive" for field order. Make sure you're also converting to 23.976 (or 24 if you're doing that). This is all under the Video tab, after you apply compression settings.

Your original footage with pulldown needs to be 29.97 with top or bottom field order, and it needs to have actual 3:2 pulldown on it, so make sure Compressor is interpreting it right also. You can change how the footage is interpreted by clicking on the name of the clip in the job window, but if your clip has correct metadata, it should automatically know this.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

3:2 Pulldown removal makes video jitter -> How to fix? 21 Aug 2019 11:52 #100999

  • bendermac
  • bendermac's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 81
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 0
Now the Reverse Telecine option is selectable. Thanks :)

But I can't switch cadence order, when I click on the file name

Last Edit: 21 Aug 2019 11:55 by bendermac.
The administrator has disabled public write access.