Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Workflow for getting a 29.97 Project exported to 23.98?

Workflow for getting a 29.97 Project exported to 23.98? 17 Oct 2019 05:11 #102085

  • bradywurtz
  • bradywurtz's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 235
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Karma: 1
So I normally shoot my weddings at 60p so I can edit in 30p and choose to have a clip slow motion or not whenever I want. That all works great, and I export and deliver at 30p.

However, I've always wished I could have the look of 24p. So I found out that if I simply drop my 60p footage into a 24p project and choose 'Optical Flow' for the Frame Sampling option on the clip in the Project, it actually looks awesome. However, I edited together a video on a 30p timeline set to a song. When I copy and paste those clips from the 30p project to a 24p project, the timing is now way off from the music (ok not way off, but it's off).

Is there a better way to do this? My thought was to move the clips from the 30p project to a 24p project, and then go clip by clip and changing the Frame Sampling to Optical Flow and let it all render out and it'll look great. But now I've got timing all off with the music. Even the project itself is a whole second shorter with the video clips now.

Is there a way to help get this all straightened out?

I've tried exporting the whole thing to a ProRes file at 30p and bring it back to a 24p project and then do the optical flow option, but when I do that, it sometimes does the optical flow and blends two frames together on a cut, making it look like a one second cross dissolve, and it looks awkward and weird.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Workflow for getting a 29.97 Project exported to 23.98? 17 Oct 2019 13:25 #102089

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2822
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
No, changing frame rates will change the timing of the video. Changing sample rates will change the timing of the audio. I'd recommend simply edit everything in 24p from now on. When I did wedding videos (back in the mini-DV days) I shot 60, editing 24, always. But I'm not sure there's a magic bullet for your issue here. If someone knows one, I'd love to learn about it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Workflow for getting a 29.97 Project exported to 23.98? 23 Oct 2019 20:31 #102219

  • bradywurtz
  • bradywurtz's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 235
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Karma: 1
I'm going to try doing what you said. Shoot it in 60fps still so i can do slow motion when I want, but edit it in a 24fps timeline so timing is right. However, I wanted to know if i'm still correct in changing the Frame Sampling for each clip NOT doing slow motion, to 'Optical Flow', or if leaving it at 'Floor' or 'nearest neighbor' or 'frame blending' is preferred. Just seems to be hard to playback easily to begin with with 60p dropped down into a 24p timeline, and it seems to take forever for the 'Optical Flow' feature to render out to see what it'll look like.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Workflow for getting a 29.97 Project exported to 23.98? 23 Oct 2019 21:39 #102220

  • bradywurtz
  • bradywurtz's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 235
  • Thank you received: 7
  • Karma: 1
I've just tried to send the whole 30p timeline out to compressor, change the frame rate to 23.98, and set the retiming quality to "Best (Motion Compensated)" and had a horrible result. It tries to blend the frames, which it did in the middle of a cut edit, so i had a ghost image in one frame of the two frames on top of each other being blended together.

I'm at a lost. Idk if i should just edit the footage in a 24p timeline, which seems like it's just a rendering nightmare just dropping clips in, and then having to go clip by clip and changing the Rate Conform to Optical Flow?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Workflow for getting a 29.97 Project exported to 23.98? 23 Oct 2019 23:28 #102223

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2822
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
Just put it in a 24fps timeline, edit, leave it alone unless you need to do slow-motion. In which case you set the the retiming to Automatic Speed. From the user manual.

Create speed effects by maintaining a clip’s original frame rate
If you’ve applied speed effects using your camera (for example, by shooting with a high frame rate), the native speed of the source media may not match the native speed of the source media for the rest of the clips in your project in the timeline. If you shoot video at a different frame rate to create a speed effect, you can use the Automatic Speed option to maintain the clip’s original frame rate.


For example, suppose you shoot a scene at 120 fps and then add the shot to a 30 fps project. If you apply Automatic Speed to that clip, every frame in the original clip plays back at the project’s frame rate of 30 fps, so the action takes longer and a slow-motion effect is created. You can use this method to create high-quality speed effects, because every frame in the original clip is played back—no frames are skipped or duplicated.

In the Final Cut Pro timeline, select the clip whose original frame rate you want to maintain.

Click the Retime pop-up menu below the viewer and choose Automatic Speed.
The administrator has disabled public write access.