Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: FCPX applying colour profile or LUT on Canon clips

FCPX applying colour profile or LUT on Canon clips 15 Nov 2019 15:42 #102662

  • Fordham
  • Fordham's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Hi all,

This coincided with Catalina, so this may be the issue. However, I thought to check with the community first.

The strange occurrence of what seems to be a profile being applied to my Canon 1DXMKII and Canon 5DMKIV clips. FS7, Fuji XT3 and EOS R clips remain unaffected.

I've attached 2 screen shots of the original and proxy comparison. This 'profile' also gets written into any export. I've checked the properties and no LUT of profile is being applied in any obvious way by FCPX. It's strange behaviour, because if I delete the proxy and transcode again, then the problem is also written into the proxy. (original proxies were created before the Catalina update. (Running Mid 2014 MBP 15"2.5, OSX 10.15.1 and FCPX 10.4.7)

As a bit of extra info QT and finder play the files with their original look, whilst VLC has the same 'profile/LUT' look, which leads me to think its the OS.

Any help would be much appreciated, as the profile destroys shadow detail completely.

Thanks,
Graeme
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX applying colour profile or LUT on Canon clips 16 Nov 2019 16:24 #102677

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1919
  • Thank you received: 225
  • Karma: 32
When you say you checked properties, did you look in the video inspector under the general tab to show the LUT field as per the image below? Secondly, if this is not the issue, did you try to create a completely new library and import those clips with the same result?

VideoInspector-LUT.jpg
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX applying colour profile or LUT on Canon clips 18 Nov 2019 07:37 #102689

  • Fordham
  • Fordham's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Hey dgwvideo,

Thanks for the response... excuse my delay.
Yes, I checked the video inspector.
I tried to reimport and the problem lies squarely with Catalina. I ran my clone of OSX before I updated and the clips are running fine, even on the new version of fcpx.

Reverting my system back at the end of this week when I'm in the office again, until apple irons out 10.15 a bit. Too early...

Thanks for chipping in and if you have anything to add that might solve it, would be great to hear, as I'll update again and eventually might still need a fix.

I guess the screenshots didn't upload, for size reasons, and I'm away now, but if they would be helpful, I will downsize and upload. It's basically a reasonably flat out of the camera profile (Prolost) that gets a crushed by a few stops of dynamic range by fcpx, It seems recoverable to correct, but it's fundamentally a profile/LUT being applied. However, I would like to see exactly what I shot.

Thanks for your help,
Graeme
The administrator has disabled public write access.