Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 31 Jul 2014 19:41 #50785

  • Bobbyco
  • Bobbyco's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 139
  • Thank you received: 21
  • Karma: 4
It was time to replace my mid-2010 MBP and this morning I did just that.
I was waiting for the news that came this week about the line so feel good about the decision, regardless of what next year brings :S

Through days of research, this morning a deal popped up on on Adorama via appleinsider.com (I assume US only). I thought I would share though it seems it is today only.

It's the former Top of the line 2.6 MHz, with 750M and 1 TB late 2013 model WITH 3 yr. Apple Care for $2899 US. And no sales tax if you're not in NY.

Since these aren't being built anymore, soon the 2.6s will be gone. I assume it will be the holidays before the 2014 models start showing more than $100 discounts.

Here is a link to save you the digging otherwise necessary. The price shows as $31xx but the coupon code AP08072014 applies the discount of the free Apple Care.
prices.appleinsider.com/#applecare
You do have to do the Adorama VIP sign up if your not already a member.

I hope it's ok I share this here. I have no disclaimers to make or anything, just a regular forum member here happy about what I think is a good deal.

I look forward to reporting back my BruceX time soon :woohoo:
PS there are other models as well from the late 2013 line, you'll have to go to the ad to find those.
Last Edit: 31 Jul 2014 20:38 by Bobbyco. Reason: Original title seemed "spammy"
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 08 Aug 2014 03:35 #51087

  • AndyAndreas
  • AndyAndreas's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Thank you for writing a post about it. I am thinking to buy a Retina too, they seem incredible laptops (we already discussed that on my topic).

Are you going to connect it to an external monitor? I am really curious to know if the Retina display helps you a lot during the visualitation of FCPX. Two displays are very helpful, but if you are not on the office the MacBook display must be a very good solution. Have you tried editing with the retina display alone?

Have you also tried to watch 1920x1080 clips at full screen? Are they blurry?
I have to show my clients Full HD movies so I am worried that they are going to see low quality clips.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 08 Aug 2014 04:03 #51090

  • Bobbyco
  • Bobbyco's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 139
  • Thank you received: 21
  • Karma: 4
Just saw this too. I answered on your thread. How about we'll stay with that one.
I will say here that I won't be using an external monitor much.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 08 Aug 2014 04:15 #51093

  • AndyAndreas
  • AndyAndreas's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Yeah, better, thanks :)

Maybe I can think about the purchase a little more since there are going to be some holidays here, but reading your lines make me want this computer so bad :)

I answered on my thread too ;)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 17 Aug 2014 21:07 #51402

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 260
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
My 2.5ghz, 16 ram, 512gb sad with 750 graphics just arrived yesterday.. Im astonished how quick its been compared to my mid 2013 iMac (32gb ram, 1tb Fusion, 680mx etc

compared to my 13"mbp 2010 it feels like holding a piece of paper !!

just need to link it up with a thunderbolt drive now as Im still on usb 3

for information, i paid £1999 via very.co.uk but they offer a £150 account cash back, pc work offered £100 cash back also.

I am very very pleased with my new and expensive purchase ;)
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 18 Aug 2014 14:19 #51432

  • VidGreg
  • VidGreg's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 929
  • Thank you received: 185
  • Karma: 28
gaddster,
Unless you have a multi-bay enclosure, a single ssd (not sad, need to add ssd to your dictionary to fix auto-correct) will not saturate a USB3 I/O port. You will not have any faster throughput on ThunderBolt unless you are setting up a RAID 0 with at least 2 ssds or ~ 4 hdds.

Congratulations on your new rMBP everyone.

I have a rMBP and I use an external 2nd monitor most of the time. Enjoy the extra real-estate.

Hope this helps, Greg
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 18 Aug 2014 14:45 #51434

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 260
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
Thanks Greg

So stick with my USB3 setup until I am ready to invest in a thunderbolt Raid 0?

bank manager hates me already this week, he may hate me a little more if I go down the raid route.
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I upgraded to a TOL MacBook Pro 18 Aug 2014 15:19 #51435

  • VidGreg
  • VidGreg's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 929
  • Thank you received: 185
  • Karma: 28
Your welcome Gaddster,
I am just now getting a new 4 bay external enclosure, so if I may offer some insights.
I ordered this IcyDock "IcyCube model MB561U3S-4S (Not an endorsement just what I settled on)

I prefer to use soft RAID. Cost less, non-proprietary so you can just pop the drives into any enclosure and good to go. Hardware RAID, lose the hardware/firmware; lose your data unless you have an exact duplicate unit.

Not all USB3 units are the same. One thing to look for is USAP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Also sometimes just called UAS. This is much faster throughput using less CPU resources. Some USB3 units are only BOT with high overhead.
Also make sure that internally the unit is using SATA3 (6Gb/s) not SATA2/1 or you will not get full speed from drives.
Bought a 2 slot dock that claimed to be USB3 but used SATA2 so sent it back. I use some docks for grabbing data and backups, easier than enclosures.
I also wanted hot-swap, internal power and fan(s). Many of the external power supply bricks are barely adequate for 4 drives.
Having just a bare multi-bay unit gives me the most flexibility for all the hdds I have laying around. RAID when I need, JBOD for other usage.
New unit should arrive this week.
Hope this helps, Greg
Well this is interesting. I had read a review/description of the above IcyDock product that stated it was USAP compliant, but after writing this post I went back and read the specifications with no mention of USAP support. I contacted Icy Dock and they confirmed that at this time it does not support USAP but are working on a revision that will, so I cancelled my order.
Anyone want to recommend a 4-5 bay JBOD enclosure that does do all the above?
Last Edit: 18 Aug 2014 21:16 by VidGreg. Reason: New product info.
The administrator has disabled public write access.