Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2)

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 08 Feb 2017 14:54 #85581

Hi guys.

Today I have got this problem in fcpx 10.3.2

The clips doesn't snap anymore together, even if I toggle the snap option (see the attached video).
Why??
Anyone has the solution to this problem?

Thanks

Last Edit: 09 Feb 2017 16:07 by giacomo.cagnetti.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 09 Feb 2017 14:16 #85609

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4095
  • Thank you received: 876
  • Karma: 192
Hi Giacomo, welcome to the forums.

I don't see any video attached. You should upload it to YT and copy/paste the YT link under your post.

- Ronny
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 09 Feb 2017 16:08 #85613

Done, thanks!
ronny courtens wrote:
Hi Giacomo, welcome to the forums.

I don't see any video attached. You should upload it to YT and copy/paste the YT link under your post.

- Ronny
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 09 Feb 2017 21:21 #85619

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 1418
  • Thank you received: 194
  • Karma: 16
I see nothing you're doing that shows incorrect behavior. You're zoomed in to almost frame level. The clips seem to be activating correctly for Connected Clips. What exactly are you not able to achieve?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 10 Feb 2017 05:30 #85629

giacomo.cagnetti wrote:
…The clips doesn't snap anymore together, even if I toggle the snap option (see the attached video).…

… what exactly do you understand by 'snap together'?
your video doesn't show any issues …

The snap-feature allows, for example, putting the skimmer exactly on an edit-point without placing it by frame-precision ... so, I'm a bit confused what 'snapping together' should mean … :huh:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 12 Feb 2017 17:40 #85676

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4095
  • Thank you received: 876
  • Karma: 192
Thank you for posting the video. There is indeed a problem. No matter how much you zoom into the timeline, you should be able to place the two clips next to each other without leaving an empty space. Your video shows that this does not happen.

I did a test on 10.3.2 and I don't have this issue. So I would suggest to trash your FCP X preferences and see if this solves the problem. If it doesn't, post back and tell us the format and frame rate of these clips, and the format and frame rate of your Project so we can try to reproduce the issue..

- Ronny
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 12 Feb 2017 22:36 #85681

  • cofe
  • cofe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 85
  • Thank you received: 11
  • Karma: 1
it looks to me as the second connected clip doesn't sit on a frame boundary but between 2 video frames . That's why the out of the first clip your trimming doesn't line up (it actually snappes to frame boundaries )

Now how the second clip, which has video, is able to connect between frames is something I've never seen nor can explain?

The reason why the snap function doesn't make a difference is because, and that is normal behaviour, the out of a clip containing video can only be trimmed one full frame at a time.

Happy editing
Carsten
Last Edit: 12 Feb 2017 22:43 by cofe. Reason: Clarification
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 12 Apr 2017 15:16 #87130

Hey guys,

I'm seeing this too. I've been researching like crazy and unable to find any solution (or many people talking about this issue at all, for that matter.) I trashed preferences with no luck. I'm running FCPX 10.3.2 as well, working with a 23.98 project frame rate and both 23.98fps and 119.88fps footage. The footage is in a few codecs...
Codec a: AAC, H.264, 1920x1080 and 23.98fps
Codec b: 'avc1', Linear PCM, 1920x1080 and 23.98fps
Codec c: Linear PCM, XAVC Long 422/10 50 Mbps, 1920x1080 and 23.98fps
Codec d: AVC Coding, Linear PCM, 1920x1080 and 119.88fps

Here's my demo of the issue:

Anyone know if this is a bug or some strange setting? How can I get this project to a clean place where all video starts and stops on full frames (as it should). Thank you so much!

- Ellen
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 10 May 2017 03:53 #87936

  • josefina
  • josefina's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
I'm also having the same problem. The snapping-together-of-clips function suddenly stopped working about a month ago. Can't figure it out. I'm using 10.3.3
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 30 Jun 2017 22:38 #89142

  • Levine2001
  • Levine2001's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
I have the same problem.

FCPX 10.3.4

OSSierra 10.12.5
The administrator has disabled public write access.

SNAP problem between clips (FCPX 10.3.2) 04 Dec 2017 21:26 #92080

Hi

I just ran into the same problem using FCP 10.3.4

After not really finding a solution in this forum, I did a little digging and found a simple solution.
In the menu above, click view scroll down to the bottom and make sure that snapping is ticked. I believe you can also enable this by pressing N.

Hope this helps!
The administrator has disabled public write access.