Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Saving transition effect presets?

Saving transition effect presets? 05 Feb 2018 01:21 #93894

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 663
  • Thank you received: 61
  • Karma: 0
I know we can save filter and effect presets but is there a way to do that for transitions? I have a transition that I use a lot that I make adjustments to from its default settings and also have it a shorter duration than its default length. Is there any way to save this so I don't have to make the adjustment for each new project I work on that utilizes this transition?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 06 Feb 2018 01:24 #93916

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 663
  • Thank you received: 61
  • Karma: 0
I'm guessing from the lack of responses that this is a feature not currently offered in FCPX.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 06 Feb 2018 04:11 #93923

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2067
  • Thank you received: 280
  • Karma: 30
Transitions don't store duration, as in when you add them to a Timeline how much time to they take up by defualt. That is a universal transition default, set in Preferences.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 06 Feb 2018 12:59 #93943

  • willypimentel
  • willypimentel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 54
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 1
would be great to have...
We had it in fcp 7
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 07 Feb 2018 21:20 #93999

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2067
  • Thank you received: 280
  • Karma: 30
Nope, I believe FCP7 worked the same way. One universal transition default.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 08 Feb 2018 03:10 #94006

  • willypimentel
  • willypimentel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 54
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 1
If my memory still works, i was able to save favorites in the effects bin….
I guess that is what i am trying to say…
:)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 09 Feb 2018 04:57 #94023

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 663
  • Thank you received: 61
  • Karma: 0
In FCP 7 you can save effects (aka Filters) AND transitions, duration included. I could have one transition take 23 frames and another take 14 (just for example) and they saved like that. Seems you can't yet save transitions in any way yet other than making your own in Motion which really isn't a great workaround.
Last Edit: 09 Feb 2018 04:59 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 09 Feb 2018 05:24 #94024

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2067
  • Thank you received: 280
  • Karma: 30
Yep, now I remember. I did have transition collections by duration, for one specific production. Yep. Don't miss that feature. But if I were in that situation again, it would come in handy.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 09 Feb 2018 10:57 #94030

… just to share results of a test:
When you create a transition in Motion with a designated length of, say, 30frames, the length in the Prefs does override that.-

… fun fact: only the new FLOW dissolve ignores these settings… must be an SDK-exclusive feature… Nonsense! Flow is affected as any other transition by the prefs… (considering a diff. coffee blend)
Last Edit: 09 Feb 2018 16:38 by Karsten Schlüter.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 10 Feb 2018 07:45 #94066

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 361
  • Thank you received: 48
  • Karma: 5
A related problem/request. A Premiere user trying FCP X and searching "the blue button" (Matzdorff). He was used to apply fade in / fade outs by selecting left edge or right edge and hit ctrl+d (standard crossfade). In FCP X, he complained, he had to either lift the clip from the primary to free it from adjacent clips to apply fades to/from black with cmd+t or make *two* custom effect presets with opacity keyframes. A lot of clicks involved, the effect panel (and no effect favorites HUD like in Commandline) - not very cool.

We shrug, but God is in the detail. Shouldn't this work like in Premiere (left bracket or right bracket, shortcut). Didn't this work that way before (I was really shocked when I tried it, and there was always a crossfade)? Is there a trick to make it work, given that Motion now allows to save in different categories?
Last Edit: 10 Feb 2018 07:53 by Axel.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving transition effect presets? 10 Feb 2018 12:11 #94074

Axel wrote:
… was used to apply fade in / fade outs by selecting left edge or right edge and hit ctrl+d (standard crossfade).…

I'm no Premiere user, but keen on semantics:
a 'crossfade' demands TWO clips involved, imhu, otherwise it is no cross…. So, add a slug, add a dissolve, done.
a fade-in is no transition, but an effect - a ramped opacity …

… all said from the perspective of a clip-based NLE. A track-based NLE doesn't care, which or if any clip is before/after the processed clip.

… I'd say… B)
The administrator has disabled public write access.