Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Which ProRes version for Canons crm file?

Which ProRes version for Canons crm file? 13 May 2018 00:44 #95486

  • AppleGuru
  • AppleGuru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 248
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: -5
Hey guys looks like we will be getting more and more footage in Canons RAW CRM file format.
We like to conversion this in Apple ProRes since it would be more flexible.

Which Apple ProRes would be the best, ProRes HQ or ProRes 4444?
I did some conversion:
Original CRM = 1,82 GB
Final Cut Pro X Optimized ProRes 4444 = 3,95 GB
Compressor (from the ProRess 4444) ProRes HQ = 2,42 GB
Compressor (from the ProRess 4444) ProRes 422 = 1,79 GB

Thanks
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Which ProRes version for Canons crm file? 13 May 2018 01:27 #95487

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4064
  • Thank you received: 652
  • Karma: 106
What’s the resolution, 2K or 4K?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Which ProRes version for Canons crm file? 13 May 2018 18:50 #95489

  • AppleGuru
  • AppleGuru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 248
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: -5
The footage is 4K
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Which ProRes version for Canons crm file? 13 May 2018 22:34 #95490

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4064
  • Thank you received: 652
  • Karma: 106
I think HQ would be adequate for most content.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Which ProRes version for Canons crm file? 14 May 2018 08:02 #95492

  • Scrubelicious
  • Scrubelicious's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1195
  • Thank you received: 107
  • Karma: 45
It seems Canon favors Apple ProRes 4444 when using there Cinema RAW Development.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Which ProRes version for Canons crm file? 14 May 2018 10:19 #95493

  • AppleGuru
  • AppleGuru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 248
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: -5
It would be cool if there is a way to convert the CRM to Apple ProRes RAW!
The administrator has disabled public write access.