Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Sending audio from FCPX to DAW's for Final Mix.

Sending audio from FCPX to DAW's for Final Mix. 14 May 2018 15:39 #95494

• 20mChop
  • Fresh Boarder
I have been a FCPX editor since the day it came out, I am also an apple certified trainer in FCPX, lecturing at a top College in South Africa for 5 Years. I am also a qualified sound sound engineer.

I currently work in the TV industry here in South Africa for a large international company.

I feel that the audio round tripping in FCPX is only getting worse. When X2pro launched in 2012, it was a program that really solved an issue with getting into Pro tools (or any DAW that could accept an AAF).

However fast forward to 2018 and all I seem to get is error after error when exporting AAF's out of X2pro. Literally my last three 22 minute shows that I have tried to create AAF's from have all thrown up errors ,mainly due to the use of Mp3 audio, but other times there would be an audio file that couldn't be processed and it would either stop the export or cause massive issues on the timeline in Pro Tools.

Another issue I have found is that my audio and video is out of sync when inside pro tools, re-syncing the audio and then exporting your final mix, sees your final locked edit out of sync by the same amount that you re-synced by inside pro tools.

So I thought what the hell, lets move away from Slow Tools and AAF's all together and go into Logic straight via project XML's. Well low and behold was I only met with even more unexplained issues of the incorrect parts of audio files appearing on the Logic timeline.

I have been quite frustrated with the audio aspect of FCPX, we have been waiting for how long for a roles based mixer, with actual AU and VST support and there is only a few loudness meters that work with FCPX, also very frustrating.