Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Selecting clip from timeline to browser

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 11 Sep 2018 13:18 #97008

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Hi.
I know it has been mentioned before but there still is this lingering problem.
I always have to select twice "Reveal in browser' to have FCX jump to the clip.
It's just annoying that this simple selection problem has not been solved.

Is it just me?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 11 Sep 2018 14:06 #97009

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4119
  • Thank you received: 662
  • Karma: 106
If the timeline is the active and something is targeted Shift-F one time is all you need.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 11 Sep 2018 14:15 #97010

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
That works.
For some reason I selected with the CTR key at one point and it jumped someplace else.

Thanks.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 11 Sep 2018 19:37 #97014

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2123
  • Thank you received: 286
  • Karma: 30
From the Timeline pane, Shift-F is "Reveal In Browser"
From theTimeline or the Browser, Shift-Command-R is "Reveal in Finder"
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 11 Sep 2018 21:29 #97015

I'm glad I saw this thread, as shift-F does seem to work without problem. That does not change the fact that if you a right-click/ctrl-click and select "show in browser" it most often jumps to some seemingly random clip (but usually in the right event). Definitely a bug, would be great not to have it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 11 Sep 2018 21:36 #97016

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Exactly. I have been using the CTR key for some time.
Well. I'll just use the other shortcut.

Cheers.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 12 Sep 2018 00:49 #97017

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4119
  • Thank you received: 662
  • Karma: 106
Cannot reproduce this. There must be some other factor that makes it happen. A clip in the primary storyline, even if not targeted, on right-click produces the correct browser file. Can you post a screenshot of part of the project that shows where this happens?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 12 Sep 2018 01:01 #97018

This happens in the main timeline when right-clicking and selecting "find in browser" – but only for the first clip you select after you have the timeline selected. If you then right-click the same clip again OR any other clip in the timeline, the right-click will work like it should. To "reset" back to the buggy behaviour, you have to select some other keyword/event/folder than the one presently open, go back to the timeline, and voila, bug again.
Last Edit: 12 Sep 2018 01:02 by davíð alexander.corno.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 12 Sep 2018 01:10 #97019

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4119
  • Thank you received: 662
  • Karma: 106
I can select an event in a different library, right-click on a clip in the timeline and get taken to it in the right event.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting clip from timeline to browser 12 Sep 2018 12:09 #97021

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Just tried it this morning on small project.
Using CTR it did go to the clip all but once.

On a big project. I always need to select twice using CTR.
If I use the shift+F shortcut it works well all the time.

I tried it on both collapsed and uncollapsed clips.
The administrator has disabled public write access.