Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: FCPX recreate Optimized Medias

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 09:27 #97074

  • Ponponpostprod
  • Ponponpostprod's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 106
  • Thank you received: 9
  • Karma: 1
Hi everyone,

I've a big library and i've copied the original medias and optimised medias from one disk to another.
I need to make optimised media because i have Panasonic EVA1 UHD footage.
I've relinked media to the new disk, (external Media folder) but when i ask FCPX to transcode the original, fcpx render the medias again, even if they exist in the Final Cut Optimized Media Folder.
I've the good destination cache and media Folder in the library.

What can i do in order to not rerender all the optimised medias ?

As you can see in the SC. FCPX create the temp render file even if the optimized is in the folder.
One more thing the temp render stay like this and is not deleted.
Attachments:
Last Edit: 17 Sep 2018 12:16 by Ponponpostprod.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 12:41 #97078

  • Ponponpostprod
  • Ponponpostprod's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 106
  • Thank you received: 9
  • Karma: 1
have you ever seen this behaviour ?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 12:42 #97079

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 970
  • Thank you received: 46
  • Karma: -76
The optimised media like its sister proxy are garbage files, they are designed to be destroyed and recreated. The point is that you should delete the optimised, use the library manager to change the location and recreate the optimised media, sure it sucks to do this, but I am not sure there is a better alternative.

As I understand the way FCPX works, this would actually be a good thing, sometimes things go wrong, and having a garbage system like optimised and proxy, by garbage I mean not worth saving, any errors could be corrected by a new run of optimised media creation...no harm in trying is there???
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 12:52 #97080

  • Ponponpostprod
  • Ponponpostprod's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 106
  • Thank you received: 9
  • Karma: 1
I've ever done this with proxy : after changing the location, i ask to transcode, fcpx scan the folders and don't recreate media. Here not ... :dry:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 13:02 #97082

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 970
  • Thank you received: 46
  • Karma: -76
Select the library name and then File-Delete Library generated files, Switch to original view.
Regenerate the optimised media and or proxy...

I feel that FCPX is underpowered and this aspect of the app is a bit of a problem, needs more work from the mothership...
Last Edit: 17 Sep 2018 13:04 by MsJustine.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 13:13 #97083

  • Ponponpostprod
  • Ponponpostprod's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 106
  • Thank you received: 9
  • Karma: 1
I don't want to delete them, it was a long render time. I want to keep them I've ever done it .
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 13:20 #97084

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 970
  • Thank you received: 46
  • Karma: -76
I fully understand, you have to weigh up the lost time trying to work around this issue or the time it will take to regenerate the optimised media, sadly I wish I knew a way other than to suggest bite the bullet, take the pain. a long lunch/coffee break, regenerate the media.

It is not re-rendering, it is a separate media system, renders as I understand are used during the edit, loaded into RAM and used to aid playback.

To be honest I am very alarmed that it is original/optimised and a separate proxy, when in my mind it should be 1-original, 2- optimised and 3-proxy.

Optimised is a codec, as is proxy, my advice is that you use proxy files, the optimised is for top end systems, a bit of a system hog for things like multi-cam.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 14:14 #97088

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 480
  • Thank you received: 60
  • Karma: 10
Not sure exactly what you did, but here is what works:

1. Create a new library. In inspector, choose where media are supposed to go (external, I understand).
LibrarySettings.jpg


2. Have both the "Old Library" and the "New Library" open. Now drag & drop the content of "Old" into "New". This dialog will appear:
Consolidate.jpg
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 14:15 #97089

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 970
  • Thank you received: 46
  • Karma: -76
Wow, thanks Axel, that is so helpful...

That really is a great solution!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 15:10 #97091

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 480
  • Thank you received: 60
  • Karma: 10
As you see here:

... it is also possible to choose different locations for original, optimized or proxy. That is, if you modify the library settings in between import/creation of either. As Mark and Steve say, it was nice not to have to use such rude tricks. What usually doesn't work is when you move or copy something on Finder level. FCP keeps track of things if it's involved. Otherwise, relinking clips becomes a PITA.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 15:15 #97092

  • Ponponpostprod
  • Ponponpostprod's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 106
  • Thank you received: 9
  • Karma: 1
I knew this solution but for some reason i've done the copy outside of FCPX. The links have to be recreated.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX recreate Optimized Medias 17 Sep 2018 15:34 #97093

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 480
  • Thank you received: 60
  • Karma: 10
Just import the Optimized Media, leaving files in place. After editing, move the folder, so that they turn offline. Then relink to the Original Media (should work, never tried that myself). Clumsy solution? Well, if you START by making changes in Finder, you end up with having to swap clips manually.
The administrator has disabled public write access.