Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Home Movie editing

Home Movie editing 07 Oct 2018 16:14 #97313

• richmont
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
I'm a hobbyist FCPX user and a friend has asked me to compile a photo/video montage of his family's "favorites" from their iPhone and DSLR collection. These are random videos over about a year's span, everything from holiday adventures, to swimming at the pool. There's no coherent storyline per se. And he wants to make it look more filmic with titles etc. So...my question to the more experienced editors out there is...any tips on how to pull this off? In terms of pacing, transitions, etc? I know/have just about every plugin needed for titles, effects, transitions, video walls, etc. But just need advice for how to piece together a lot of unrelated stuff to make a somewhat coherent edit.

Thanks in advance!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Home Movie editing 07 Oct 2018 17:16 #97314

• FCPX.guru
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Thank you received: 294
Music, find appropriate music. And group the media together, maybe in chunks of time, so it's chronological, that's a story.

Home Movie editing 07 Oct 2018 17:29 #97316

• Axel
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 51
Does your friend have a Mac? Then the biggest favor you can do to yourself is to teach him the basics of FCP and tell him he has one month (one month! - how long does he expect you work on this?) to use the fully functional FCP test version.
I spliced my uncle’s vacation films (and washed his car) for very little payment (pocket money), but I was a little boy then. In hindsight it’s clear that he had exploited me. And still nobody liked his films. Nor his cheap car.
Last Edit: 07 Oct 2018 17:31 by Axel.

Home Movie editing 07 Oct 2018 19:09 #97317

• richmont
  • Fresh Boarder
@fcppx.guru thanks for the feedback -- makes sense and good advice.