Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Do I need ccompressor?

Do I need ccompressor? 23 Oct 2018 19:13 #97496

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
I searched the forum for 20 minutes...Vaguely remember there was a topic on this.
If I get Compressor will I have more control on the export and better quality than using FCX?
I don't need to batch process.
What are the advantages of Compressor over FCX if any.
Are there any problems with Compressor I should know about?

Thanks.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 23 Oct 2018 22:26 #97501

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1752
  • Thank you received: 201
  • Karma: 26
Compressor offers more options for encoding your videos, both with the type of delivery file and the settings for that type. FCPX offers many, but not all, and limits some of the options available for tweaking the compression. Whether you need it or not, and whether you'll get better quality depends on what delivery format you use. I typically create a full resolution master file from FCPX (not a delivery format) and then use either Compressor or another Compression Software to produce the delivery file. Many delivery formats can be produced directly from FCPX with great results.
For DVD's (if you still produce them), the Compressor "Create Disc" option provides more settings and customization than FCPX does.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
Last Edit: 23 Oct 2018 22:28 by dgwvideo.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 24 Oct 2018 00:48 #97502

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
Thank you for your information.
Many delivery formats can be produced directly from FCPX with great results.

I presume then that for most delivery including festivals FCX should work fine.
Compressor simply give me more settings to tweek.
And just to be clear I'm not referring to DCP.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 24 Oct 2018 14:42 #97516

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1752
  • Thank you received: 201
  • Karma: 26
That's sort of a loaded question. It really depends on what the specifications of the delivery format are. In most cases, FCPX can export what is needed, but not necessarily for all unique requirements. Festivals often require different formats based on their unique playback needs so you'd need to be specific, but generally I'll bet FCPX can export the vast majority of them.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 24 Oct 2018 15:07 #97517

  • VTCmedia
  • VTCmedia's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
More control with Compressor. I create one master file then other subfiles can be created with watermark or time code or masks or text in a myriad of compression settings. Allows you to adjust bitrate as well as multi pass to improve quality. Batch encoding, creating presets, and distributing encoding process across multiple computers a bonus. Also, if FCPX is exporting while your'e working in the program and craps out then both your export and edit has to start all over again.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 24 Oct 2018 15:09 #97519

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
Will stick with FCX for now.
Most festivals need HQ of current file formats.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 24 Oct 2018 15:12 #97520

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
Ok...
Was posting at the same time you where.
Definitely to consider the exporting while I work in FCX.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 25 Oct 2018 16:31 #97529

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1019
  • Thank you received: 212
  • Karma: 17
Albo wrote:
...What are the advantages of Compressor over FCX if any...

Creating and editing time lapse videos from an image sequence. Compressor can do this and produce a 4k or even native camera resolution ProRes video file which FCPX can edit efficiently. The technique is discussed in MacBreak Studio #353:

The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 25 Oct 2018 18:35 #97530

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
Nice.
I use Dragonframe for all my animation work, timelapses too, but I can see it could be
usefull.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 29 Oct 2018 13:19 #97553

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
Are there any known problems with compressor?
On the App store you do have some comments and low ratings but most of these are not recent.
Hard to find anything that's useful.
Latest comment is April 2018 and refers to batch encoding. The comment is vague and we have no idea on the workflow so this might just be a user problem.
Last Edit: 29 Oct 2018 13:19 by Albo.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 29 Oct 2018 13:27 #97554

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2244
  • Thank you received: 300
  • Karma: 34
I use it daily for busy, fast turn-around broadcast work, no issues.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Do I need ccompressor? 29 Oct 2018 17:32 #97557

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1752
  • Thank you received: 201
  • Karma: 26
Compressor works fine and much better than previous versions.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.