Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: How to best configure my RAID media drive and backup

How to best configure my RAID media drive and backup 06 Dec 2018 14:58 #98078

• RevJimBob
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
Hi, again. I am so thankful to have this forum with such helpful people like you. I read almost everything written here but rarely have anything to say. I am completely self taught and didn't begin my new full-time career in video production (documentary style videos for foreign missionaries) until I was retirement age. So thank you for being so helpful!

I am blessed to have a new 10 core iMac Pro and several good hard drives. My question is about a new ThunderBay 6 (24TB, ThunderBolt 3) which is currently configured as RAID 5. It is sitting next to a G-Speed Shuttle XL (24TB, Thunderbolt 2). I want to use one of them as my media drive and the other as a backup of all that same media. I put all the media on both drives to do a "real life" test with Black Magic Disc Speed.

The 8 bay Shuttle XL averages read/write at 599/623 MB/s .
The 6 bay ThunderBay averages 436/754. MB/s.

Shall I leave them at current configuration, using the Shuttle as the main media drive (because it is faster) and the ThunderBay as backup? - OR - Would the ThunderBay, re-configured as RAID 0 be faster than the Shuttle (which is hardware RAID and can't be changed)? I don't want to have to do another "real life" test if I can avoid it (i.e., if you can answer this for me).

We currently shoot in 10bit 4K on GH5 cameras, deliver in 1080p but that will probably change in the not-too-distant future.

Thank you so much for reading all this from a relative novice. Your advice is greatly appreciated.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to best configure my RAID media drive and backup 07 Dec 2018 12:21 #98083

• FCPX.guru
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Thank you received: 302