Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: No Modifier Button for Changing Clip Source Timecode

No Modifier Button for Changing Clip Source Timecode 04 Oct 2019 14:32 #101766

  • Videopixels
  • Videopixels's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 103
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
Hi there

So with sequences it's really easy to change the parameters but I don't see the same modify button with the source clips I have. I have gone through all the options in the inspector and the meta data options and I can de-interlace etc but not change the source timecode.

I need to do this from a MotionVFX template I am using and trying to time the compound clips to work with the templates duration. At the moment it's trial by error situation and is very time consuming.

I would also like to stay in FCP X with the project already having quite a lot of work done on it.

Any ideas, your help would be appreciated.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

No Modifier Button for Changing Clip Source Timecode 04 Oct 2019 14:52 #101767

  • Albo
  • Albo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 137
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
I don't think you can change the source timecode.
It is afterall the source.
Not 100 % sure but seem's logic to me unless I misunderstood the problem.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

No Modifier Button for Changing Clip Source Timecode 04 Oct 2019 17:13 #101773

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1919
  • Thank you received: 225
  • Karma: 32
One way I know of to do this would be to go into filmstrip view in the browser, then right click on the clip and "create new compound clip". This will bring up a dialogue that allows modification of the timecode. This may be a hassle if you have many clips, but it works. There may be a 3rd party app that can import FCPX XML and allow you to change the timecode, but I'm not aware of any other way to do it in FCPX directly. Maybe another user has more information on this.

SS-Timecode.png
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

No Modifier Button for Changing Clip Source Timecode 05 Oct 2019 05:54 #101786

  • Videopixels
  • Videopixels's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 103
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
Thanks. I was hoping to have some kind of way to see absolute timecode not linked to clip. I cut in both Avid and Premier but way prefer FCPX by far but it's just a pity that the option does not exist.
The administrator has disabled public write access.