fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Ken Burns moves to Resolve

Ken Burns moves to Resolve 04 Dec 2019 19:18 #102997

  • Witthaus
  • Witthaus's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 25
  • Thank you received: 1
Hey all -

Finishing a documentary I cut on FCPX in Resolve. Will Ken Burns moves come across to Resolve? I used a bunch of them on still images. Thanks in advance.

Scott

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ken Burns moves to Resolve 04 Dec 2019 21:08 #102998

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 547
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 70
Yes, at least with FCP 10.4.7, fcpxml 1.8 ("latest"), Resolve 16, and "use FCP sizing information" in the XML import dialog. But when in doubt, you better check yourself.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ken Burns moves to Resolve 07 Dec 2019 21:09 #103022

  • Ponponpostprod
  • Ponponpostprod's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 9
yes it does since a long time. The translation in Resolve is Dynamic zoom in the inspector.
Careful, don't use Crop resizing in FCPX if you've to go in Resolve, because crop in Resolve is the "real" crop which is the trim function in fcpx. If you have to resize some pictures, use PTZR in the inspector in FCPX.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ken Burns moves to Resolve 17 Jan 2020 22:16 #103975

  • Witthaus
  • Witthaus's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 25
  • Thank you received: 1
But isn’t the Ken Burns effect using crop to resize? I just tested my project in Resolve and all the moves are there but the resize information did not come across. Plus a lot of secondary storylines are offline with no option to relink in the media pool. Thoughts?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ken Burns moves to Resolve 18 Jan 2020 10:22 #104005

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 547
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 70
Don't know about secondary storylines, I rarely use them. Could be you had to overwrite them to the primary before exporting the XML. But first check this:

You need to import the timeline in Resolve. Off the cuff and abroad, I can't tell you how the other options in Resolves import dialog are called, but that's the only one, in my experience, where everything, media and edits, are transported. Also, as I wrote earlier, there is a "sizing" checkbox in this dialog. I use KB and crops quite often, and I never found an issue.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1