Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: 13 vs 15 inch, would love some help!

13 vs 15 inch, would love some help! 15 Dec 2014 18:58 #57397

• dionsyia
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello!

I would really very much appreciate any tips/insights/opinions from anyone using either of these computers or has some advice!

I am trying to choose between buying the MacBook Pro "13-inch: 2,6-GHz Retina-display" and the "15-inch: 2,2-GHz Retina-display", mostly for working with resolume avenue and final cut pro, and I'm no computer expert, nor an expert with the programs (specially not (yet) final cut) so I'm finding it very hard to choose.

Just want to note I am fully aware that there are so many better options out there, but in price the 15-inch option is at the moment the most I can spend on it, and only if I feel its really justified for the things I use it for, which is probably less intense than many people here! I also know if I want cheaper and good I should look at non-mac options but I'm stubborn and want another mac for now :P

I got the following advice:

- The difference between the "13-inch 2,6-GHz" and the "13-inch: 2,8-GHz" is not worth 500e, might aswell take the 2,6 then.
- The main difference between the 13 and 15 options is speed. The 15-inch will be significantly faster, and some extras of course like the bigger screen, and more pixels, etc. Those extras though will, in the end, not necessarily improve the output of what I do, only make the use/chillness of using it better. The only difference is you will have to wait longer and everything will be a bit slower.

However, I am doubting that in practice the only thing that makes the 15 better is that I can do everything faster.

Could you guys explain to me, other than improved speed/usability (considering that a luxury), what significant differences there are for the two laptops in using those programs?