Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: New Mac Pro and Motion 5?

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 16 Sep 2014 22:17 #52784

  • Juha
  • Juha's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
Hello,

How much nMP D700 GPUs will speed up Motion workflow? Will it play "generic motion graphics (multiple animated shapes and texts)" DoF and Motion blurs turned on or will it still need RAM preview for realtime playback?

Right now I'm using 2013 iMac with i7, 32 GB and GeForce GTX 780M and I can't playback animations without RAM preview when DoF and MB are turned on.

I'd like to hear real life experiences if possible, thanks!
Last Edit: 16 Sep 2014 22:21 by Juha.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 18 Sep 2014 17:51 #52876

  • Juha
  • Juha's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
Is there anyone running Motion 5 on new Mac Pro???
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 18 Sep 2014 23:14 #52887

  • Stupid Raisins
  • Stupid Raisins's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 125
  • Thank you received: 38
  • Karma: 11
There's a Mac Store down the road from me that has the new Mac Pro and Motion installed. I'm going to test it out.

I'll add DOF and MB to my tests and let you know.
Raisins are the worst and I love making fcpx plugins!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 18 Sep 2014 23:26 #52888

  • Juha
  • Juha's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
Wonderful! Can't wait to hear how well new Mac Pro will spin Motion. Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 19 Sep 2014 02:21 #52895

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 10106
  • Thank you received: 1279
  • Karma: -34
I've been running Motion 5 on a nMP, 8 core, 32GB RAM, dual D700s, Pegasus T2 12TB RAID 5, since early January. I love it, runs really well. Noticeable, but not extremely drastic performance boost. I'm very happy with it.

I can still bog it down fast with very complex projects, but not nearly as fast as my old Mac Pro did. Very happy with it.
Last Edit: 19 Sep 2014 02:23 by BenB.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 19 Sep 2014 05:36 #52901

  • Juha
  • Juha's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
Thank you BenB, good to hear that nMP is working great for you. Actually I'm looking nMP with very much same specs, without Pegasus tho.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 19 Sep 2014 11:35 #52914

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 10106
  • Thank you received: 1279
  • Karma: -34
The drive you put your media on will have a great impact on app performance. I don't recommend putting media on the system drive. What do you plan to use for a Media drive?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 19 Sep 2014 12:05 #52916

  • Juha
  • Juha's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
Hello,

I've been animating Motion generated shapes and texts so no images or videos so not so much read traffic.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 01 Dec 2014 00:25 #56686

  • Stupid Raisins
  • Stupid Raisins's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 125
  • Thank you received: 38
  • Karma: 11
I finally got to play with Motion on a new Mac Pro. I did notice a performance improvement but it wasn't drastic like Ben said.

I'm not sure if it's worth the price for me.

I make a lot of FCPX plugins and want to see a drastic improvement for that kind of money.
Raisins are the worst and I love making fcpx plugins!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 01 Dec 2014 06:45 #56693

  • Juha
  • Juha's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
Stupid Raisins wrote:
I finally got to play with Motion on a new Mac Pro. I did notice a performance improvement but it wasn't drastic like Ben said.

I'm not sure if it's worth the price for me.

I make a lot of FCPX plugins and want to see a drastic improvement for that kind of money.
Thanks for the report! I have already ordered my nMP with 12 core and D700 and it should be here on next week. I really needed more horsepower for rendering purpose than what I have now on iMac so can't wait to have it! If it runs Motion 5 even little bit better then it's good plus. It's not coming for Motion/FCPX use only.

Can't wait!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 01 Dec 2014 12:19 #56701

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 10106
  • Thank you received: 1279
  • Karma: -34
"Drastic" increases in speed and performance don't happen from one generation of CPU to another. On my 8-core nMP I don't see "drastic" increases, but enough to make it very worth the investment. I'm very happy with it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 02 Dec 2014 03:51 #56746

  • Stupid Raisins
  • Stupid Raisins's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 125
  • Thank you received: 38
  • Karma: 11
Thanks for your replies. :silly:

Ben, what is most important for Motion? RAM? CPU? HD? GPU?
Raisins are the worst and I love making fcpx plugins!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 02 Dec 2014 12:45 #56766

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 10106
  • Thank you received: 1279
  • Karma: -34
They're all important. I hate saying one is more important than the other, since it is a "system", not each component racing "against" the others. Thus, which is more important, is to me, not a valid question.

If you're limited on funds, which should you focus more on? That is a different question. Again, a balance of each one. Super powerful CPU/GPU won't help if you only have 4GB RAM. Bump that up to 32GB RAM and you'll still be bummed out with a USB 2.0 media drive.

It is a balancing act. Get the best of each that you can afford. Don't get 32GB RAM if getting only 16 lets you bump up to a T'bolt drive. Best of all you can afford.

But none is more important than the other, in a "system".
Last Edit: 02 Dec 2014 12:47 by BenB.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New Mac Pro and Motion 5? 05 Dec 2014 02:00 #56950

  • Stupid Raisins
  • Stupid Raisins's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 125
  • Thank you received: 38
  • Karma: 11
Thanks for your help. It's an expensive balancing act!
Raisins are the worst and I love making fcpx plugins!
The administrator has disabled public write access.