Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: HDMI Audio Output

HDMI Audio Output 03 Nov 2014 18:59 #55441

  • DSvoboda356
  • DSvoboda356's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 109
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 3
Hey guys,

I have a new set up at work and I am trying to work out a few kinks. Here is the set up. nMP with two 24in apple LED Displays connected via mini Display. Then I have an AJA iO4k sending a 4k signal to a Samsung monitor and two HD signals to two additional monitors. I would like to go HDMI out of the nMP into a recover to monitor the audio. However when I plug the HDMI cable into the recover the OS seems to think there is another monitor connected. Is there a way to tell the OS to only send audio?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

HDMI Audio Output 04 Nov 2014 14:19 #55490

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 10106
  • Thank you received: 1279
  • Karma: -34
Why not come out of the audio port?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

HDMI Audio Output 04 Nov 2014 14:22 #55491

  • DSvoboda356
  • DSvoboda356's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 109
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 3
Can the audio port send out 5.1?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

HDMI Audio Output 04 Nov 2014 14:32 #55493

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 10106
  • Thank you received: 1279
  • Karma: -34
Ah, now it must be 5.1. That will probably be an appropriate audio i/o box. HDMI is going to send a video signal no matter what. At least I've not gotten it to send audio only so far. Maybe someone else knows what trick will do this. All of my audio work goes through a PreSonus Firestudio.
Last Edit: 04 Nov 2014 14:33 by BenB.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

HDMI Audio Output 04 Nov 2014 15:36 #55496

  • DSvoboda356
  • DSvoboda356's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 109
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 3
Thanks Ben,

I was having an issue with some distorted audio coming out of of my AJA io4k. I swapped the box and it seems to be all good now. To be perfectly honest I forgot all about the audio port on the back of the computer. It can send optical out through an adapter right? Cant optical send 5.1? Or is that something with the chipset? It could be a cheap solution for some other people on here.
The administrator has disabled public write access.