TOPIC: Getting one's foot in the door

Getting one's foot in the door 23 Jun 2015 04:02 #65796

• Cromonius
  • Cromonius's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Greetings fcp.co community!

So, I have the gear and I am a relatively decent editor. By decent I mean I understand it and love doing it, but my "green horns" are definitely still attached. I loathe my full-time job and I have been filming (using a Panasonic GH4) local businesses (promo/docu style) in efforts to edit and create a reel. I've also been filming some green screen stuff and absolutely love storytelling and special fx.

Now, forgive my utter rookie status, my plan is to have this reel done by the end of summer and apply for jobs and whatnot. Does anyone have any general advice for me? Do I need to intern somewhere? Can a rookie make it as a freelancer? I know the questions are quite vague but I would love any stories, experiences and general advice that anyone would be willing to share. I would very much appreciate some real-world advice. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Getting one's foot in the door 23 Jun 2015 12:57 #65811

• BenB
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 1277
Many of us got started as a business doing weddings and events. Great experience, not that easy to do. That's if you want the hassle of being self-employed. Be meticulous about your bookkeeping!