fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Import part of a file in FCPX

Import part of a file in FCPX 03 Sep 2013 08:04 #30684

  • J_Th
  • J_Th's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Guys,

I have to work with a few very big files (180 Gb - 2 hours) , but I only need to use a few minutes of footage of these files. I don't want to import the complete files in FCPX, but just the few minutes I need.

When I try to import media, and use shift to select a part of the clip (the yellow lines appear) but when i click import it imports the complete 180 GB file!

Does anyone know how to do this?
Hope you can help me out.
Thanks in advance,

Jorn

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Import part of a file in FCPX 03 Sep 2013 08:14 #30686

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4556
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 739
You cannot selectively import a portion of a file that's on your hard drive.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Import part of a file in FCPX 03 Sep 2013 12:51 #30689

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4239
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Hi Jorn,

Tom is correct, but there are two ways you can get around this.

1. Import the entire file in FCPX, but without copying the media to the Event folder.

This way you can work with the file in FCPX without making another copy of the large file.

2. Trim the file before importing it.

Open the file with QT player.
Choose Edit > Trim. The trimming bar appears.
Drag the yellow trimming bar handles to the left and right to select the portion you want to use.
Then click Trim and choose File > Export to export the selection to a standalone movie.
When the export is done close QT player and when asked do not save the changes. This will leave your original file intact.
Now you can import import just the selection in FCPX.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by ronny courtens.

Import part of a file in FCPX 03 Sep 2013 12:52 #30690

  • FvH
  • FvH's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 10
Well, you do not have to import 180 GB. I wouldn't. Just uncheck "copy files to event folder". Then FCPX will just refer to your large files. Choose your ranges within the event browser, tag them as favorites, and you're ready to edit. Should your machine have difficulties with smoothly displaying the original files, then have FCPX generate proxy files. You can delete them after you're done with your edit.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Import part of a file in FCPX 04 Sep 2013 03:33 #30714

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 860
  • Thank you received: 79
That's one thing I really miss from FCP7 is the ability to import only part of a file. I guess nobody at Apple thought of that when they were making FCPX. Hopefully they think of it as they make FCPX 10.1.

That said, I usually just trim them first in Quicktime 7 if I have to like Ronny suggested. I think QT 10 can do it as well, but why open QT 10 when you can open QT 7 instead? :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Redifer.

Import part of a file in FCPX 04 Sep 2013 06:23 #30715

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4239
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
QT7 will also work, but QT10 has nicer yellow trim bars :P

FCP has never been able to import part of a clip that's on your hard drive. You only could do this when capturing from a tape or from a card folder, just like in FCPX.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Import part of a file in FCPX 18 Mar 2014 11:00 #42900

  • Neil P
  • Neil P's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
I've just been trying to work out how to do this Ronny, ie shorten/make edit on an audio file before importing and found your answer.

problem solved :-)

Thanks

Neil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1