fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: AVCHD from Sony PXW70 to ProRes on ingest?

AVCHD from Sony PXW70 to ProRes on ingest? 24 Oct 2014 09:04 #54711

  • VJIse
  • VJIse's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 1
All,

We have just bought Sony PXW-70 cameras. Until Sony gets a plugin to ingest XAVC-L out, we are going to film in AVCHD.

The AVCHD is ingesting without a problem. But, the media is coming in as MPEG4/H.264 (According to VidSpec)
I have 'Create optimised media' checked, and I was expecting the files to come in as ProRes. Is their anyway to force
FCP X to create ProRes files as optimised media? I know I can use ClipWrap to convert the files, but I want to find out if I can do it only with FCP X.

FCP X 10.1.3

Mac OS 10.9.6

iMac 16GB RAM

Thanks

Ise

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

AVCHD from Sony PXW70 to ProRes on ingest? 24 Oct 2014 09:23 #54713

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4240
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Hi Ise, welcome to the forum.

When you import clips FCP X puts the original media in the Original Media folder in the Library. If you have selected "Create Optimized Media" it will at the same time create ProRes versions from the imported clips, which will be put in the Transcoded Media folder in the Library.

It is very easy to check if the ProRes clips have been generated. Just select a clip in the clip browser and in the Inspector > Info tab look under File Information. If you see a green dot next to "Optimized" this means the ProRes clips are available, and that's the media you will be editing with.



- Ronny
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

AVCHD from Sony PXW70 to ProRes on ingest? 24 Oct 2014 11:00 #54721

  • VJIse
  • VJIse's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi Ronny,

Thanks, I did know that. But in my defence, I clicked on the clip and did reveal in finder. That was of course taking me to the original clip and not the optimised clip. And I stupidly didn't look in the inspector. Or check out the folder I had the ingest going to.

Thanks for setting me straight.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

AVCHD from Sony PXW70 to ProRes on ingest? 24 Oct 2014 11:03 #54723

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4240
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
No problem, we all make mistakes all the time. If not, life would be boring :)

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1