fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Do you make your audio cross-fades in FCPX or in Pro Tools / Logic ?

Do you make your audio cross-fades in FCPX or in Pro Tools / Logic ? 16 Sep 2015 19:16 #68607

• manoucho
  • manoucho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 47
Hello

Now that I'm starting to mix my work with a DAW, I realize that:

- when I do a manual audio cross fade in FCPX, I think I'm saving time, but because of the trackless timeline it becomes 2 different tracks in Pro Tools / Logic.

So I'm wondering what is more efficient. Just make "simple" cuts in FCPX ?

Then I can simply make a cross-fade in LPX in one click on one single track, instead of having to deal with 2 different tracks.

And, what about J-cuts ?

I'm new to this so I'm wondering what the best practices are. I' a beginner with DAWs, so I might not have the right mindset.

Thanks for the help !!

Any advice welcome !
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Do you make your audio cross-fades in FCPX or in Pro Tools / Logic ? 17 Sep 2015 05:44 #68625

Hey Manu,

Many tracks are not a bad thing in a DAW. Classic audio engineers will never put "audio dissolves" between clips on the same track. They will move the clips to different tracks so they overlap, and then they will carefully shape the audio transition between the two clips with keyframes. Much more precise than canned transition effects. That's also how you can do it in FCP X.