fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Displaying project on shop window tvs

Displaying project on shop window tvs 12 Aug 2016 15:40 #79171

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
A client has asked for some video/animation work to be done to show on his shop window TVs.

Anyone been asked to do this? Did you export on to a USB stick or is there dedicated players out there?

Also, best formats for full HD TVs?

Thanks
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 12 Aug 2016 19:40 #79173

  • canelson
  • canelson's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 9
  • Thank you received: 46
I think the easiest way is to export a movie to a USB and play it from there using the TV (check if the TV plays movies from USB first, because some old one only displayed pictures and music, but no video. All the information and codec supported are in the TV manual).

If it's a short video, I always prefer to duplicate the edit many times in the same timeline and deliver a long movie than a very short one to avoid problems with the tv stoping or the lack of a loop feature.

Hope it helps!
--
Matias Canelson
www.canelson.us

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 12 Aug 2016 20:26 #79174

  • Duncan Craig
  • Duncan Craig's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • duncancraig.co.uk
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 9
I've supplied clients with Sumvision Micro3 media players - £30
Full HD over HDMI, small enough to be cable-tied tidily behind a TV.

They can be setup to autoplay and autoloop, and can be USB powered from any modern TV.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 12 Aug 2016 22:20 #79176

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
Thanks guys

Just found out its 2 X tvs in a window playing 2 lots of content…. Not sure whether the media players can play 2 super ate files or whether the usb is the right option (if it can be set to auto play)
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 13 Aug 2016 06:13 #79180

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3692
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 661

canelson wrote: ...
If it's a short video, I always prefer to duplicate the edit many times in the same timeline ...


Excellent suggestion, my - little, 3 devices - experience with smartTVs is, they show some HUD/overlay on loop beginning, which is a bit distracting when seen every 90sec (or wotever program length).

Check supported specs, although 2016, often just fat32 is allowed = 4GB max file size, naming scheme 8+3 ....
Speaking of HUD: in my case, they displayed the mp4 name - so don't call it "boring v2", "clientsheaven", "wtf_666" ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 13 Aug 2016 07:23 #79182

  • Duncan Craig
  • Duncan Craig's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • duncancraig.co.uk
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 9
From memory the Sumvision doesn't have any HUD (I'm sure I wouldn't have chosen it otherwise) and it can be set to loop all or loop single. It is subject to FAT32 4GB limits.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 13 Aug 2016 08:46 #79184

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
So would you attach the media player (maybe with velcro) to the back of the TV? the TV's are suspended in the window from a ceiling pole?

Normally i wouldn't get this involved but the client has asked for a solution and video :S
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 13 Aug 2016 13:27 #79187

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1981
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 242
Either cable tie as suggested or using a good industrial Velcro is also an acceptable solution. I would choose a method that allows the device to be easily removed if needed (i.e avoid double stick tape and the like).
Creating history....one edit at a time !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 18 Aug 2016 14:47 #79281

  • bogiesan
  • bogiesan's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 27
Never heard of the Sumvision so did some research, Seems there's a version 4 now. Looks like a cool little product.
Be careful that your client doesn't get all excited about video and suddenly decide that they want a pet image to span the sets or to display the movies vertical. At that point, you want to investigate digital signage applications and hardware.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Displaying project on shop window tvs 19 Aug 2016 09:08 #79297

  • Duncan Craig
  • Duncan Craig's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • duncancraig.co.uk
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 9
A vertical video is really simple, just create a 1080x1920 project instead of 1902x1080.
Spanning multiple screens will be more complicated though.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1