fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Imported clips are slowed down :(

Imported clips are slowed down :( 26 Sep 2016 10:29 #80276

• ryan.lowry
  • ryan.lowry's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone!

I have been using Final Cut Pro for a few years now. Currently on 10.2.1

Recently when I import video form my Canon 70d, 80d or 6d into the timeline, it is slowed down.
The pitch is lower and to get it back in time I have to increase the speed to 104%.
I do a lot of music videos and having to do this every time is taking ages!!

When I import videos off my phone (.MP4) the audio pitch and timing is fine.

Any ideas would be really appreciated

Thanks! :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Imported clips are slowed down :( 26 Sep 2016 13:54 #80289

• lichinho
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 62
What are the frame rates of the clips from your cameras, and the frame rates of the projects you are using them in?

Imported clips are slowed down :( 26 Sep 2016 16:36 #80304

• Karsten Schlüter
  • Thank you received: 665

ryan.lowry wrote: … to get it back in time I have to increase the speed to 104%.…

(pocket calculator…) that is a 25fps to 24fps conformation.

But doesn't explain, why a) FCPX doesn't do it automatically, nor b) doesn't pitch automatically … out-of-the box, conform and pitch are set to that ....

Imported clips are slowed down :( 18 Oct 2020 20:52 #110532

• JamesPendle
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Did this ever get solved in the end? I'm having exactly the same problem since updating FCP to newer version. Using canon 80D.

Imported clips are slowed down :( 19 Oct 2020 15:25 #110545

• joema
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder