fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: audio plugins I can't launch

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 09:54 #86087

When I met an audio-plugin on an audio/video file in the timeline, I should than be able to launch the plugin from the inspector by clicking it once. But only the plugins that come with final cut will open for further adjustments, all logic, osx and third party plugins will not show up by clicking them.
I'm on fcpx 10.3.2, sierra, on a late 2015 imac fully loaded.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 14:42 #86092

If the plugins work as expected but the plugin UI cannot be opened from the Inspector, first thing I would do is delete the FCP X preferences and see if this solves the issue.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 14:47 #86093

Thank you Ronny for the quick reply.
I have done this already, also trashed the cache. No reaction. The windows won't open from the inspector.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 15:25 #86094

I have been looking for posts about similar issues, but have been unable to find one. Thus seems to be quite an unusual situation. Have you tried re-installing FCP X? This should launch the AU validation test which could solve the issue.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 15:33 #86095

I have tried that too, by deleting the com.apple.audio.InfoHelper.plist, which forces FCPX to revalidate the audio- plugins. No result so far, this is strange behavior.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 15:43 #86096

As the issue only happens with AU plugins (the Apple filters are Core Audio), I would create a new admin user to see if you still have the problem when opening FCP X with the new user. Doing this test usually helps a lot in trying to find the actual cause of a problem.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 15:59 #86098

Created a new user, the same happens

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 24 Feb 2017 16:02 #86099

This means that there are no problems with your preferences, your plugins or your current account.

Although we don't have the solution yet, this test already rules out a lot of probable causes. So we should concentrate on FCP X again. I would advise you to do a complete removal and reinstall of the app. This usually only takes 10 minutes.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 25 Feb 2017 12:49 #86108

I reinstalled, still no lauching of the audio Plugins.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 25 Feb 2017 14:16 #86109

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4021
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 563
Do you happen to have Logic Pro X installed on your system?

You can click on the Control Panel icon to bring up the control panel of plugins found in the " Final Cut Pro" category, but not plugins in the other categories? I've never seen this before. Just to clarify...

If you click the Disclosure Triangle, do you have access to all of the pliug-in's manual controls?


Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Ben Balser.

audio plugins I can't launch 25 Feb 2017 15:04 #86110

I found out accidentely: when I click on the very left edge of the tiny icon, the plugin will open. I can click all 'final cut' icon everywhere and it opens, all third party, logic and osx will have this 'click on the left edge' behavior. When I click in the middle than there is the 'show' and 'hide' action. As if the writing reaches inside the icon. So I guess it comes from the translation, the german words are much longer than the english ones. (Ausblenden + Anzeigen instead of show+hide)
Thank you Ronny and FCPX.guru for your time and help.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by schloerg.

audio plugins I can't launch 25 Feb 2017 15:39 #86111

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4021
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 563
Fill out the feedback form, let the development team know about this, please.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 25 Feb 2017 15:43 #86112

And I think I'm right. 'Final cut' plugs you can 'show'+'hide' and the icon to launch is than inside the window that expands below. All other plugs have the icon left to the writing 'show'+'hide'.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 25 Feb 2017 17:38 #86117

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 2018
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 249
Glad you got it figured out. AND - in the future, you do not need to manually remove the audio plist file to have FCPX reevaluate audio units. You can simply open FCPX preferences and click the "Validate on next launch" button and FCPX will evaluate all audio units the next time it starts.


Creating history....one edit at a time !
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 25 Feb 2017 17:41 #86118

thank you for the tip!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 03 Dec 2020 03:10 #111201

Can anyone help me? I accidentally downloaded the a waves pack that I did not own. It caused it to pop-up the failed-plug in message. I deleted the shell and tried everything above and still have no success launching the app. I also have a primarily music set up with a larger focus on logic. Could the issue be that I have audio hi-jack running in low-security mode to allow the program to take control of the mac's internal audio system? I have no intention of using audio-plugs ins final cut as I prefer working in Logic.
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

audio plugins I can't launch 03 Dec 2020 19:41 #111221

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4021
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 563
All you needed to do was a simple uninstall.
www.waves.com/support/uninstall-waves-products

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1