fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Can't update 550G library - out of app memory?

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 20 Mar 2017 17:37 #86633

  • mobiletaylor
  • mobiletaylor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 181
  • Thank you received: 6
Using the latest version of FCPX and a new MacBook Pro with toucher. Library is on an external raid with plenty of space available. My internal SSD has 600G available. Starts the process and then gives the error?

Any ideas?

Taylor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 20 Mar 2017 17:41 #86634

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3820
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 534
It doesn't matter, just curious. How much RAM in that MBP?

Not at my laptop at the moment, but there's a handy little app for Apple laptops that frees up unused RAM memory. Forget what it's called.

Does quitting and restarting FCPX help?
Does rebooting the MBP help?

HHHmmm... think, think, think...

You shouldn't be getting that error.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 20 Mar 2017 17:43 #86635

  • mobiletaylor
  • mobiletaylor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 181
  • Thank you received: 6
16GB. I got the top end pro with 1tb SSD. I've tried restarting a couple of times. The library worked fine on the last version of FCPX. All my other libraries have updated just fine. Also, no projects in this library, just media assets.

Thanks,

Taylor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 21 Mar 2017 00:58 #86644

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3820
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 534
Start with the typical:
Verify app, OS, and all plugins are up to latest versions.
Run Disk Utility to repair all drives.
Launch FCPX while holding both Opt and Cmd keys, to delete preferences.

Odd one. Where's Ronny?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 21 Mar 2017 04:23 #86646

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 2004
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 248

FCPX.guru wrote: there's a handy little app for Apple laptops that frees up unused RAM memory. Forget what it's called.


I think you are referring to "Memory Clean" by FIPLAB Ltd.
Creating history....one edit at a time !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 21 Mar 2017 12:18 #86648

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1707
  • Karma: 27
  • Thank you received: 370

mobiletaylor wrote: .... All my other libraries have updated just fine. Also, no projects in this library, just media assets....


I have upgraded 2.5 terabyte libraries containing 6,000 clips with no problems.

Try closing all your other libraries except the 550GB one, restart FCPX and see if it can upgrade just that one. Is this a managed library with all content inside or an unmanaged library?

On the previous FCPX version you could also try deleting all generated library files, then try the upgrade.

If that doesn't work and it's a managed library, you could try consolidating all the media outside the library, then deleting all generated library files so the library itself is small as possible, then try the upgrade. You would probably have to use an external drive for this.

If that fails, at least you have the media outside the library. If by that time you have any idea it's isolated to a particular clip or media type you might be able to drop that, do the update and re-import it.

I wonder if it's possible to de-link all the media files by moving them, then update the de-linked library, then re-link them after the update? Or is it possible to save the library XML on the old version, drop the library, do the update, create a new library and load the XML?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 21 Mar 2017 15:20 #86651

  • mobiletaylor
  • mobiletaylor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 181
  • Thank you received: 6
I tried closing everything but the one library - still no luck.

It is a managed library - all files inside.

I tried removing the original file folder (on a copy library) and it updated fine, just with all the media missing links. Is it possible to relink everything after that? Or would it just cause me problems down the line?

Thanks,

JT

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 21 Mar 2017 15:25 #86652

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1707
  • Karma: 27
  • Thank you received: 370

mobiletaylor wrote: ....I tried removing the original file folder (on a copy library) and it updated fine, just with all the media missing links. Is it possible to relink everything after that? Or would it just cause me problems down the line?...


I don't know -- that was my question. If it relinks after the update I'd think it was OK, but I have never tried this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 21 Mar 2017 15:37 #86654

  • mobiletaylor
  • mobiletaylor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 181
  • Thank you received: 6
I'll try that this morning. yesterday I just dropped the original media folder back inside the updated library, but it wouldn't open. Same problem with the memory availability.

JT

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't update 550G library - out of app memory? 21 Mar 2017 17:47 #86658

  • mobiletaylor
  • mobiletaylor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 181
  • Thank you received: 6
OK, I think I got it working.

1 - I moved the library to my internal ssd drive.

2 - Removed the original media folder

3 - Updated library (all media missing at this point)

4 - Relinked all media to the folder I removed

5 - Moved library to external drive and consolidated

6 - Deleted original media folder still on my internal SSD

7 - Seems to be working

Thanks for all the help/ideas !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by mobiletaylor.
  • Page:
  • 1