fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: How do I Switch Projects?

How do I Switch Projects? 27 Nov 2017 19:29 #91960

  • Yes
  • Yes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 0
(Also, how can I set the forum so that it is not dark grey text on black backround ? because I cannot read it as it is.)

I have the project events on the Left bar. The timeline is n the bottom, but it walays seays "untitled project". How can I get it to switch to the correct project?

Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 27 Nov 2017 21:12 #91961

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 554
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 72

Yes wrote: (Also, how can I set the forum so that it is not dark grey text on black backround ? because I cannot read it as it is.)


Afaik you can't change the appearance of the forum, but you can invert the colors: >system preferences >Accessibility >Displays >Invert colors. To quickly change back to normal you can check >show Accessibilty status in menu bar. A little man in a circle appears on top right.


Yes wrote: I have the project events on the Left bar. The timeline is n the bottom, but it walays seays "untitled project". How can I get it to switch to the correct project?


An event is a folder that contains clips. In the hierarchy there is THE library, one or more events within it, and the project(s) is/are within the event(s).

A folder is quite an ancient concept. It's limited insofar as one file can only be in one folder at a time.

Tip 1: use the more flexible smart collection between library and event(s). It doesn't really matter in which events you stored which project or which range of clips. Go there, click "projects", and they will all appear (and everything else disappears). You open a project in the timeline (the timeline is the project) by either right-clicking it >open project or by simply double-clicking it.

Tip 2: name your projects! Whenever it says "Untitled", it asks you for a name. FCP can't skim over the project icon. Yes, there is a tiny thumbnail, but aren't names just better?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Axel.

How do I Switch Projects? 28 Nov 2017 08:46 #91964

  • schloerg
  • schloerg's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 2
hey YES

I have the same problem with this forum. I help myself like this:
create a textfile with text edit. Fill in this:

* {
color: #000000 !important;
background: #f7f7f7 !important;
}
a {
color: #000000 !important;
}

give it a name with the ending .css somewhere on your computer, lets say bw.css

then in safari preferences go to the last section, advanced.
Go to 'Style-Sheet' and navigate to your file with the ending .css
Everything white in safari is now now black and vice versa

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 02:14 #91974

  • Yes
  • Yes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 0
When I choose, "Open LIgrary", it doesn't switch projects. Maybe i need to "Open Project"? But how?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 03:56 #91975

  • Yes
  • Yes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 0

Yes wrote: I have the project events on the Left bar. The timeline is n the bottom, but it walays seays "untitled project". How can I get it to switch to the correct project?


An event is a folder that contains clips. In the hierarchy there is THE library, one or more events within it, and the project(s) is/are within the event(s).

A folder is quite an ancient concept. It's limited insofar as one file can only be in one folder at a time.

Tip 1: use the more flexible smart collection between library and event(s). It doesn't really matter in which events you stored which project or which range of clips. Go there, click "projects", and they will all appear (and everything else disappears). You open a project in the timeline (the timeline is the project) by either right-clicking it >open project or by simply double-clicking it.

Tip 2: name your projects! Whenever it says "Untitled", it asks you for a name. FCP can't skim over the project icon. Yes, there is a tiny thumbnail, but aren't names just better?[/quote]


I clicked on the projects text in the smart collection and the project did not appear. Nor did the timeline change. What am I dooing wrong?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 10:46 #91983

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 554
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 72

Yes wrote: I clicked on the projects text in the smart collection and the project did not appear. Nor did the timeline change. What am I dooing wrong?


Either it doesn't exist in the first place (you have to create one, a library can exist without a project) or it's in another library, then it can't be found in the current library's smart collections. Two more tips:

1. Watch an "FCP X for beginners" tutorial on Youtube.
2. Better: watch/read an entire training. There are many.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 14:59 #91985

  • Yes
  • Yes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 0
I google search for “FCP X for beginners” And this came up as the only result


Is this the recommended video that contains the answer to my question?And can you tell me where in that video I can find the answer. Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Yes.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 15:44 #91987

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3447
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 474
Go to macProVideo.com or Ripple Training and take the basic FCPX course. It'll save you so much time and so many headaches!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by FCPX.guru.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 15:59 #91988

  • Yes
  • Yes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 0
How does taking a general purpose course on Final Cut Pro answer my question about switching between projects. My question is pretty specific in scope.

It might be the case that I spend 100 hours on course material (which by the way, is not free) only to be filled with informationThat I’m not consistently using because I’m too busy learning everything else such as logic Pro X, webdriver, and everything else that I need to do in life.

In order to be an effective teacher you need to be able to differentiate people who are trying to become an expert in something versus those who are trying to be able to use them. One does not need to become an auto mechanic to drive a car. Think of me as a car driver.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Yes.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 16:51 #91989

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3447
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 474
Only takes a day, is only the basics needed. And I do consider myself a very effective teacher over a life time of being one. And no one said anything about training you to be an expert, just to know the basics and save you time. I'm helping you learn to drive, not be a mechanic. In that metaphor, you're asking how to open the passenger side door, something a driver should know.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 16:54 #91990

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3670
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 656

Yes wrote: …Think of me as a car driver.…


… based upon your very basic questions, I think of you more as a taxi-passenger …

SCNR!! :silly:


speaking of bad car analogies:
becoming a driver asks for investing (time, money) into a license, too.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 29 Nov 2017 23:46 #91998

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 554
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 72
Let's focus on this statement:

FCPX.guru wrote: Only takes a day, is only the basics needed.



Believe me, to understand the concept of editing is really easy, particularly with FCP X.

Yes" wrote: ... information that I’m not consistently using because I’m too busy learning everything else such as logic Pro X, webdriver, and everything else that I need to do in life.



I know this sounds OT, but it isn't. I had a girlfriend in school who spoke 8 languages fluently. One summer holiday, she went on a six week vacation to a kibbutz. When she came back, she could speak, read and write Hebrew, the ninth language. Clearly, she was an intelligent girl, but what as her trick?

No trick. She learned 16 hours a day. She forced herself to think with the new words, even though in the first days she didn't know many.

We have jobs, families, friends. We need time to sleep and to relax. When are we supposed to have time to learn new things? Answer: in the little time that's left. It's true - you need ONE DAY for the basics. While you read a textbook or watch a tutorial, draw a mind map with the puzzling terms Library, Events, Projects. This learning method is very good for visually oriented people. In a way editing with FCP X resembles constructing a mind map.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 30 Nov 2017 01:58 #91999

  • Yes
  • Yes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 0
The problem has gotten so bad that I can't use FCP anymore! I suspect that something is wrong with my setup or environment.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 30 Nov 2017 03:15 #92001

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3447
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 474
Post screen shots, or set up with one of us to do a screen share via TeamViewer or something. But I think we're gonna need screen shots. Something isn't sounding right here to me.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 01 Dec 2017 05:00 #92018

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1974
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 239

Yes wrote: When I choose, "Open LIgrary", it doesn't switch projects. Maybe i need to "Open Project"? But how?


In case you haven't figured this out yet, opening Libraries will not change the current project that is open in your timeline. You can open several libraries and the same project will remain open until you change it. To change your project go to the event browser and select (double click) the project that appears in the event that you created it in. You can also quickly locate your projects for any given library by clicking the drop down arrow for smart collections (under the main library you are working in) and then clicking on the projects line. This will show all projects created in all events for that specific library. As you open multiple projects you can then navigate between them very quickly by using the forward and back arrows that appear above the timeline and to the left and right of the project. This is directly under the timecode display.

Hope this helps you out.
Creating history....one edit at a time !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 08 Dec 2017 04:41 #92146

  • Yes
  • Yes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 0
I got that. I was having a problem with not being able to switch projects for some projects. But I think that that was possibly due to dragging the library files to my external HD. Maybe FCP didn't know about the new location.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How do I Switch Projects? 08 Dec 2017 08:03 #92154

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 554
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 72

Yes wrote: ... not able to switch projects for some projects.



You are mixing up the terms.

My habit:
When I have finished or temporarily abandoned the work on a *film* (=library, possibly and usually containing several timelines, sequences = projects), I go to >File >Close Library before quitting FCP.

Now in theory I could also >File >Open Library to "switch".
I can't tell you if FCP would lose track of open libraries if you had manually moved them in Finder. I would assume that though, it seems logic, but I never tried myself.

Because I launch FCP by double clicking on the library's icon (if the library already exists of course).

Since I have learnt from fcp.co member FCPX guru how to make all libraries accessible in one place, here , I use this smart folder. Note that it's completely irrelevant where each of the libraries are placed, have been moved or copied, they will be found anyway.

It's the same concept used in FCP's smart collections. Only that those are limited to find only the items within their library - for a reason, if you think about it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Axel.
  • Page:
  • 1