fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:

TOPIC: About-to-be new user with a mighty big question!

About-to-be new user with a mighty big question! 05 Feb 2018 01:05 #93893

• sergio.hochmann
  • sergio.hochmann's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello!

I'm a photographer and will start doing video work now and am wondering if my Mac will work well for editing.
I want to use:
HD video from Canon cameras
4K video from an iPhone 6s
HD, 2.7K and 4K video from the GoPro Hero 6 Black
HD video from the DJI Spark
Later on, 4K video from another drone I'll buy in a year or so

I'm looking to edit and render:
Short 10-second to 60-second videos for stock footage
Corporate videos which could go anywhere from 2 to 10-20 minutes
YouTube Channel blogs to be uploaded in 1080 which might go anywhere from 4 to 10 minutes
Timelapses using both video and photographs
Not a lot of motion graphics in the beginning but some later on probably buying templates

I do want to say that around the middle of this year I'll also be buying an iMac with the following specifications: 27-inch 5K screen, 3.4GHz quad-core 7th-generation Intel Core i5 processor, 16GB 2400MHz memory, 1TB Fusion Drive, Radeon Pro 570 with 4GB video memory. I will not be updating the hard drive to an SSD because it would be WAY to expensive here in Mexico. Will this computer do well with what I mentioned before as to my needs?

The specifications for my actual computer are:

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013)
2.6 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Intel Iris 1536 MB
500GB SSD
OS 10.12.6

Thing is, I'm going on a one-month work trip to Europe in April and want to be able to capture lots of video footage, too, and want to know if my actual MBP can do the job until I buy the other one.