fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: "Multicam for audio"?

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 11:57 #97214

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 218
  • Thank you received: 1
I have a multi track wave file (no video) with different members of a panel speaking. I would like to treat the tracks like a multi "cam" for audio, so that I can switch between the active tracks. How can I do this? I was thinking of detaching each track and then trying to create a multicam clip, but not sure about the best approach.

Thanks in advance,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 12:22 #97215

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4361
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 698
I think you want to use the expand audio components function in the timeline.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 22:45 #97221

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 218
  • Thank you received: 1
That may be the 1st step, but then how do I simply select which voice to hear when? I don't want to have to individually region fade all but one track, so I have 5 tracks and when person on track 2 is speaking, I would need to fade to zero tracks 1, 3, 4 and 5. This is too tedious for a 2 hr long recording.

If it was "multi cam" style, I would just click track 2 if that is the main speaker.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Multicam for audio"? 27 Sep 2018 22:55 #97222

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3156
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 415
Assign each audio clip it's own Camera Name, Angle and it's own Role to start with, then you have lots of options.

But, to make it a Multicam, they'd all have to have the same audio to match up, or the same Timecode to match up.

Assign each a unique Role, put in a Compound Clip, Expand Audio Components. Then use the Range tool to select regions and V to mute that region.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Multicam for audio"? 28 Sep 2018 05:32 #97224

  • Beeldcomponist
  • Beeldcomponist's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 8
You can split the multichannel wav with Wave Agent from SoundDevices en make a multicam with all the minor channels. www.sounddevices.com/products/accessories/software/wave-agent

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Multicam for audio"? 28 Sep 2018 05:33 #97225

  • Beeldcomponist
  • Beeldcomponist's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 8
ahh autocorrect, multicam with all the mono audio channels

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Multicam for audio"? 29 Sep 2018 04:59 #97237

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 218
  • Thank you received: 1
Many thanks for this! :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Multicam for audio"? 29 Sep 2018 09:54 #97238

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1366
  • Karma: 27
  • Thank you received: 285

pszilard wrote: That may be the 1st step, but then how do I simply select which voice to hear when?....


I think Tom is right -- for a multi-channel .wav file, you can expand audio components, then mark a full-length range on each track with the "R" key, disable each with the "V" key. You'll still see a dimmed version of the waveform, so you can visually see when a person is talking. You then simply draw short ranges and re-enable those with V when that person is speaking. It doesn't require breaking apart the polyphonic .wav file or doing audio-only multi-cam in the Angle Editor. It would look something like this:
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by joema.
  • Page:
  • 1