fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Edit Playback Performance (New rMBP 16")

Edit Playback Performance (New rMBP 16") 27 Dec 2019 06:14 #103550

• noahrtaher
  • noahrtaher's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm a video professional, been using FCPX for years. Just upgrade from a 2017 15" (2.9Ghz Quad i7, 16GB RAM, 4GB Radeon 560) to a 2019 16" (2.3Ghz Eight core i9, 64GB RAM, 8GB Radeon 5500).

I hate bringing silly question to these forms, but I'm stuck. Maybe a point into the right direction for research at least is what I'm looking for.

For some reason playback on unrendered video is nearly impossibly slow. Choppy at best, often lagging/freezing for ~3 seconds when moving from one clip to another during playback. It's like the effect of editing off the worlds slowest hard drive (but I'm editing off the internal SSD). Whether there are adjustments/efffects or no adjustments. 4K or 1080. (all 8bit). Same exact performance (lack of). Better quality or better performance previewing. Proxy hardly even helps.

I literally have had to render out my timeline every few minutes to check my timing for cuts, its impossible to check unrendered, too choppy.

Are there any other things I can try? I have graphics switching off, so it should default to the Radeon 5500. I did notice in monitoring that often enough the intel chip triggers - should it be using both or no?

Feels like there's a hardware/software malfunction. Editing was faster on my last computer.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Edit Playback Performance (New rMBP 16") 27 Dec 2019 11:42 #103562

• joema
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 333

noahrtaher wrote: ... I have graphics switching off, so it should default to the Radeon 5500. I did notice in monitoring that often enough the intel chip triggers - should it be using both or no?...