fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: "Expand" Compound clips?

"Expand" Compound clips? 21 Feb 2020 15:59 #104799

  • DmitriZigany
  • DmitriZigany's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 25
Is there a way to expand compound clips so they come back to the timeline as it's seperate parts again?

I really don't like the way compound clips work... wish there was a way to group clips and it worked just like compound clips but didn't add a "file" in the browser and you could ungroup at any time. 9 times out of 10 I don't wanna use that compound clip anywhere else so having extra stuff littering my files is just annoying and more clips to organise... all for no reason.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Expand" Compound clips? 21 Feb 2020 17:58 #104801

  • Doug
  • Doug's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 14
Would it not work to just create an additional story line? That way it stays in the timeline, you don't have to deal with organizing another clip in the browser, and you don't have to deal with the behaviours of a compound clip like changing things in other projects. But you would still be able to move it around as a group, apply stabilization, all that other stuff.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Expand" Compound clips? 22 Feb 2020 14:54 #104824

  • DmitriZigany
  • DmitriZigany's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 25
I often have up to 8 layers of stuff... and it's nice to "hide" it so the whole timeline doen't build too much height and also sometimes when you want a transition to affect all of those etc I want to group them.

I think only once in all my time using FCPX (started with 10.0.1) I have wanted to use a compound clip in more than one location... Almost every project I want to collapse layers but many times don't because of the fiddle of compound clips...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Expand" Compound clips? 22 Feb 2020 15:48 #104827

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3595
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 498
You can also use Roles and the Timeline Index to collapse things.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Expand" Compound clips? 22 Feb 2020 15:55 #104830

  • DmitriZigany
  • DmitriZigany's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 25

FCPX.guru wrote: You can also use Roles and the Timeline Index to collapse things.

Doesn't help with adding transitions etc.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1