fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Colorists! Gamma shifts between QuickTime and FCPX?

Colorists! Gamma shifts between QuickTime and FCPX? 18 Mar 2020 11:13 #105389

  • ZakkColor
  • ZakkColor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi fellow users and colorists!

Here's my question: What gamma is my FCPx on, when my color space is set to Rec709?
Can I safely assume that with my Display Profile being set to Rec 709 Gamma 2.4, FCPX applies Gamma 2.4 as my working and output gamma?

I did a few tests and am fairly suspicious, hoping someone here can enlighten me on this:

My workflow is as follows:

My Mac OS X 10.15.3 Macbook Pro's Display profile is set to Rec.709 Gamma 2.4
I use DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.2 for my color grading and FCPx 10.4.8 for my Editing.

1. Graded a file in Rec 709 Gamma 2.4, exports it out using Resolve with the same 709 g2.4 tagging.
2. Opens it up in Quicktime Player 10.5, great, consistent colors with my Resolve viewer.
3. Imports it into FCPx, and I see a difference between Quicktime Player and FCPx

It seems that Quicktime Player is able to read the embedded gamma and transform/display it such that it is accurate with my Resolve viewer,

which begs the question, shouldn't FCPx do the same thing since they are both directly affected by the Display Profile selected? I have some screenshots attached to show the difference between the three applications (Resolve, QT Player, FCPX - using this workflow)

It seems that FCPx viewers do not use the gamma of 2.4, but possibly Rec 709 gamma that one could argue would be around 1.94.

Does anyone know if there is a way to monitor at gamma 2.4 using the FCPx viewer like how QuickTime does?
Or am I missing anything?

Thanks,
Zakk
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Colorists! Gamma shifts between QuickTime and FCPX? 19 Mar 2020 13:01 #105414

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4478
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 731
Try using the default Display setting for your computer in System Preferences.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Colorists! Gamma shifts between QuickTime and FCPX? 20 Mar 2020 07:23 #105439

  • ZakkColor
  • ZakkColor's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Tom, thanks for your reply!

By default settings do you mean Color LCD profile?

If I want to deliver specifically to Rec 709 Gamma 2.4 for broadcast requirements, can I ask how do I set this up in Final Cut Pro?

Cheers,
Zakk

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Colorists! Gamma shifts between QuickTime and FCPX? 21 Mar 2020 06:32 #105453

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4478
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 731
FCP uses the default color profile with ColorSync to maintain the appearance across applications. The display profile doesn’t alter the output. You would need to check the output on a broadcast monitor.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Colorists! Gamma shifts between QuickTime and FCPX? 21 Mar 2020 12:59 #105463

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3522
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 488
I do broadcast daily, don't have a broadcast monitor (cheap management), but I do just fine using the scopes. Learn to use your scopes and you'll be fine. And slap on the Broadcast Safe effect if you're feeling shakey about it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Colorists! Gamma shifts between QuickTime and FCPX? 24 May 2020 00:32 #107402

  • Timberwolf Films
  • Timberwolf Films's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Zakk - having the same issue here with FCP interpreting the 2.4 footage as 2.2

Did you find a fix or workaround?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1