TOPIC: confusion about disappearing clip fx

confusion about disappearing clip fx 30 Mar 2020 09:03 #105729

• barryhill
  • barryhill's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi
I am quite new to FCP and still trying to get my head around the Events, Projects, Library, Clips categories. Seems horrendously complicated and counter intuitive.

One aspect of my struggle is a question really. When I import a clip and work on it in the timeline, will I lose those transitions etc if I delete the clip from the time line? I have about 10 clips from a symposium I video'd and I am trying to work out how to just have one clip visible at a time on the timeline? Is this possible?

I suspect it isn't possible and that all the clips I import must remain in the timeline once I have worked on them? Is this correct?

If someone could offer a really simple explanation of how to store and work on a project in FCP I would be very grateful.

barry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

confusion about disappearing clip fx 30 Mar 2020 10:03 #105731

• FCPX.guru
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Thank you received: 473
Top level - Hard Drive - contains Libraries.
Second level - Libraries contain Events.
Third level - Events contain Projects and media.
Very simple.

When you place a copy of a clip into a Timeline (Project) it's like any other NLE, it's a copy, not the original in the Browser. If you delete that timeline copy of the clip, it is no longer in that Timeline. Does it keep the transitions? No, you deleted that copy, so of course anything you did to it is deleted, also.