fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Video Wall with Synced Clips (Virtual Choir)

Video Wall with Synced Clips (Virtual Choir) 24 Apr 2020 00:20 #106476

• ktalley
  • ktalley's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello,

I am a FCPX newbie. However, I have successfully created a virtual choir project that used 26 individual recordings. I stacked the clips in the timeline, aligned them to start at the same time (the 26 recordings were individually recorded from various sources), exported the audio to Logic, edited and mixed the audio, exported audio back to FCPX, and adjusted all the clips to fit on the screen at the same time. I really don't know what I'm doing, but the project worked out pretty well in spite of that. The only thing is, it is a bit basic. (
)

I am going to be working on a few more of these for my university since none of the ensembles are able to perform together due to the shift to online only teaching because of COVID-19. I'm looking for the best way of saving me time cropping the clips and trying to get them spaced evenly (my next project will include 60 clips). I've been researching several video wall templates from FX Factory and Motion VFX. However, I'm wondering if I'm going to need the clips already trimmed and aligned in order for that to work.

I can't seem to find a way to export the trimmed clips individually from the timeline so that I can add them back to the video wall template so that they will stay in sync. The templates seem to be designed to just play several clips at the same time but not necessarily synced. I'd like to do some animation and feature certain sections and soloists throughout the "performance" by zooming or flying in certain clips. I'm willing to learn to do it the right way, but I'm also not wanting to spend another 100 hours of trial and error if I can avoid it.