fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Advice for prepping Masterfile file for Plex TV viewing?

Advice for prepping Masterfile file for Plex TV viewing? 17 May 2020 20:41 #107269

• Jonathan Levin
  • Jonathan Levin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 19
Hi all.

I hope this finds you safe, healthy, and not too bored.

I have a have a Pro Res 422 master file 1920x1080 (1280x 720) that I am trying to prep for using with my Plex Media Server. Google if you need more info on that so i don't waste your time explaining in case you already know about that. My video is around 80 minutes.

I have tried a few different conversions using Compressor. Apple Devices HD, Apple Devices HD Most Compatible both 1080. Both play fine on my end, but when I play through Plex app via internet, playback is choppy at best. If i wait several minutes, the video "Buffers" (probably wrong term) and it will play for several more seconds before choking again. I also tried using the Facebook setting which I believe is a 720 format. That seems to be slightly better.

My internet speed using Speedtest is ~45mbps download and 10mbps upload.

If I can offer any other info, please let me know. Maybe some of you have had better luck than me

Thanks and stay well.

Jonathan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Jonathan Levin.

Advice for prepping Masterfile file for Plex TV viewing? 18 May 2020 13:28 #107285

• FCPX.guru
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Thank you received: 474
Plex says they support H.264 and nothing else. So, lower the bit rate, maybe. But most of that will depend on how well their server can stream, and you Internet connection. Have you tried playing it from a different physical location?

Advice for prepping Masterfile file for Plex TV viewing? 18 May 2020 19:41 #107292

• Jonathan Levin
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder