TOPIC: Overdubbing Footage for Translation

Overdubbing Footage for Translation 19 May 2020 13:46 #107324

• docsound
  • docsound's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello, everyone,
I am a documentary filmmaker / director and recently my team and I finished editing a 40 minute documentary, which only features protagonists from a very remote area of West Africa, speaking in a language that is only relatively less spoken.
To be able to edit at all, we ingested the footage in DaVinci Resolve, always one timeline per day of shooting. A total of 37 hours of footage. Within these timelines we then had the translation recorded by a local translator. So we always had another track with the translation under picture and sound. And because our editor at home unfortunately didn't understand the local slang of the translator very well, the translator track had to be transcribed as well.
Then our editor recreated the timelines of the shooting days in AVID Media Composer and imported the translator tracks and subtitles.

After a far too long edit and the track chaos of AVID, I'm thinking about using Final Cut Pro for the next project, which takes us to an even more remote place on our planet where the language is only spoken by about 200 people. For that I would like to overdubb the raw material, i.e. every single clip, with the translator recording.
With our last project we tried to output the TC from the camera while the recordings are being played back and then use the Source-TC of the material to record audio with a sound device from the translator's voice. But that did not work.
Also the export of proxies from DaVinci Resolve via "individual clips" did not work. The translator track was not exported, only the sound of the video clip.