fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Setting Audio Fade to Linear by Default?

Setting Audio Fade to Linear by Default? 28 May 2020 22:24 #107523

  • grantd
  • grantd's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi... Been doing a lot of audio editing with FCPX and use command T often to transition but have found that my default the transition fadein - fade out gives an S curve and I need a linear transition. Can. change this each time in the control settings but it would be really cool if I could change the default behavior. I doubt it's possible but I thought I would throw it out there. Anybody?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Setting Audio Fade to Linear by Default? 29 May 2020 19:16 #107549

  • VidGreg
  • VidGreg's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 963
  • Karma: 28
  • Thank you received: 194
I believe you modify the transition and set all the parameters you want, length and type of fade (in/out) then save as user preset. Make preset default. The audio inspector has many settings and allows you to apply custom name and save.
You could also use copy and paste attributes.
See also these links might give some ideas
Our own Peter Wiggins…

Apple… support.apple.com/guide/final-cut-pro/fa...-out-ver39580fed/mac

Hope this Helps, Greg

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Setting Audio Fade to Linear by Default? 24 Jun 2020 23:53 #108162

  • jordanielmills
  • jordanielmills's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Here's one way to do it. It's not perfect, but it is saving me a lot of time.

Put a fade in and fade out on an audio track. Change the fade length and type manually.
In the inspector on the bottom right, click Save Effects Preset.
Create a name for the fades. I called mine "Linear Fades".
Decide where you want to save the preset in Category.
I select New Category from the bottom of the drop down menu and create my own called "_user" so it's at the top of the list.
Then, deselect every box except for Volume, leave that checked (that's the fades).

Go to your effects panel and find the preset you created (mine is under _user and Linear Fades).
Right click on the effect itself and select Make Default Audio Effect.

In the Final Cut Pro timeline, select one or more clips that contain audio components.
Choose Edit > Add "Linear Fades" (or press Option-Command-E).
Note: The name of the menu item changes depending on the current default audio effect.

WARNING I believe this will change your Volumes to 0.0db and the fade times are fixed per you preset.

So, this fix is not perfect and it blows my mind that Apple doesn't just allow default fade types or allow changing fade types over multiple audio regions easily.
:silly:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Setting Audio Fade to Linear by Default? 25 Jun 2020 04:46 #108168

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1978
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 242
Idustrial Revolution makes a free plugin called XEffects Fades that may be helpful. It is an effect that once applied to a clip allows you to choose between linear, bezier, +3db, and -3db and comes with many presets from 1 sec to 10 sec, and 1 frame to 12 frames.
idustrialrevolution.com/products/xeffects-audio-fades
Creating history....one edit at a time !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1