fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or?

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 20:28 #110069

  • Smesh
  • Smesh's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 96
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi guys.

I need to batch process a bunch of unedited clips to 1080p for upload to a service. Handbrake is an option but a pain since I have to add all files one at a time (or so it seems).

Will compressor do this if I buy it? Are there any other ways to do this in FCPX without adding each to a project? Any other software to consider?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 20:53 #110071

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4561
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 742
You can batch export from FCP, but the options are limited. Compressor is really designed to do this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 20:58 #110072

  • Smesh
  • Smesh's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 96
  • Thank you received: 1
Thanks Tom. Can I batch convert original clips from the browser though, or just finished projects from the timeline?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 21:08 #110073

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4561
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 742
Yes, you can batch export from the browser without going to a project. Try it and see off there’s an acceptable format for you. I think you can only go to QuickTime using master file export and that doesn’t let you change the resolution.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 21:38 #110074

  • VTCmedia
  • VTCmedia's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 12
Handbrake batch converts but unless you don't mind having video pulled from the bottom of the quality barrel I'd avoid using it. FCPX exports h264 files at around 10,000 mbps. I set Compressor to its max 19,453 on h264 files. Handbrake give you 6800 kbps (KILOBITS!)

There's a batch export out of either the browser or timeline in FCPX using COMMAND POST. (CP gets to a lot of hidden / unused parts of FC.) Scrolling timeline, pasteboard history, movable markers, and all other useful gems.

help.commandpost.io

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by VTCmedia.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 21:48 #110075

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3681
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 509
I batch convert Tricaster clips to H.264 for editing in FCPX with HandBreak a couple of times a week. I get great quality, faster than Compressor, love it. Personally, for this sort of thing, I'd recommend it over Compressor.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 21:51 #110077

  • Smesh
  • Smesh's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 96
  • Thank you received: 1
Is there a trick to selecting multiple files at once?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 22:38 #110080

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4561
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 742
Lost View is usually easier or single icons in filmstrip. The browser behaves like the Finder. Cmd-click or Shift-click or drag select.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 23:35 #110081

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1633
  • Karma: 27
  • Thank you received: 352

Smesh wrote: Is there a trick to selecting multiple files at once?


Batch export from the Event Browser is a new feature starting with 10.4.4:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Batch Processing Clips 4k to 1080p? Compressor or? 16 Sep 2020 23:38 #110082

  • Smesh
  • Smesh's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 96
  • Thank you received: 1
Thanks. Tried that, but it would not let me change the resolution. Will watch the whole thing again.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1