fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part

Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part 21 Nov 2020 09:47 #110966

  • william.caversham
  • william.caversham's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 1
The way I've discovered to make it go back (rather than searching) is by pressing UP or DOWN because it turns out the playhead itself doesn't move; just my view.

I've looked into whether I have any weird triggers in better touch tool but I can't find anything. I'm wondering what is causing it to do this. it does it so often that I think it must be a case of me swiping the trackpad accidentally plus a modifier or something.

Let's say it happens again; i want to be ready. How can I work out what keys were pressed in order to have Final Cut Pro X do this? Console give me too much information. Activity Monitor not enough.

Do you have any ideas? I want to be able to monitor what inputs Final Cut Pro X is getting and where from.

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part 22 Nov 2020 05:38 #110987

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 2004
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 248
If it happens frequently enough, try doing a screen recording as you use FCPX and highlight mouse and keyboard strokes. Or, put a small video camera shooting your keyboard and screen. If it happens once or twice a week, then obviously this isn't a solution.
Creating history....one edit at a time !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part 24 Nov 2020 19:48 #111013

  • cofe
  • cofe's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 31
It sounds you’re seeing an old bug that is rather like a ghost now as it sometimes still pops up. Originally this ‘random’ jumping towards the head of the timeline happened w all sort of edit operations. It was mostly fixed by Apple but I’m still seeing it on edit operations on secondary storyline’s. I submitted it again to Apple feedback some time back and forgotten now what exactly triggered it. Main thing is that you’re not doing something wrong but that it is a bug in the software :-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part 26 Nov 2020 11:14 #111042

  • Stooovie
  • Stooovie's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 0
I have that occassionally too, it's a bug. I can SOMETIMES fix it by creating a new timeline and copy/pasting the faulty project. Duplicating wont work as that just duplicates the bug. And PLEASE file a bug report with Apple.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part 26 Nov 2020 15:32 #111054

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3823
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 534
Disable better touch too and reboot, see if that makes a difference.  If so, you may have better touch tool set up incorrectly somehow.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part 26 Nov 2020 16:02 #111058

  • Stooovie
  • Stooovie's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 18
  • Thank you received: 0
I have that completely uninstalled, ddin't fix.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Periodically the timeline jumps to a different part 26 Nov 2020 16:08 #111059

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3823
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 534
What Mac model, year, config, macOS version, FCP version?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1