fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
14 Nov 2020
Moving over to a new system, we couldn't take the old avatars - so please upload a new one!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Replace keyframed clip || different versions of a movie w. keyframe animations

Replace keyframed clip || different versions of a movie w. keyframe animations 25 Nov 2020 18:11 #111032

Hi
I'm quite new to FCP but have some experience with video editing.
I need to make 4 very short intros for an adventsquiz. One can win 4 different prices and for each I make a 16:9 and a 1:1 video. 

Two questions:

#1: I have one intro ready with the first price. Now I want to replace the price (still image) without loosing the keyframe animation on it. What is best practice for that?

#2: I have the 16:9 animation ready and want to make a 1:1 version of it.
- can I achieve this with two corresponding projects in the same library? I tried, but the copied-over clips from timeline 16:9 to timeline 1:1 messes up quite a lot. I expect to past it in there, grab the whole bunch and place it and then make some fine adjustments in the animation.
I tried compund clips or direct copy/paste - either way it ends up not only with a mess but in changing things in the project 16:9 as well - weird.

Thank you a ton for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by abra100pro.

Replace keyframed clip || different versions of a movie w. keyframe animations 26 Nov 2020 02:10 #111036

#1: highlight the clip (yellow border around it) press command-c to copy attributes, go to the browser and select your new still, press option-r to replace the one in the timeline, highlight the replace clip and press shift-common-paste and select the attributes you want to paste onto the new clip.